Global Entry - First Time

Old Dec 30, 13, 12:39 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: JFK/LGA/ISP
Programs: Dividend Miles, True Blue, Rapid Rewards, AAdvantage, Early Returns, Sky Miles
Posts: 34
Global Entry - First Time

I just got Global Entry and an planning to fly up to Toronto, I've heard that the first time you use the kiosk to re enter the country you automatically get an X because it's your first time. Any truth to this?

Thanks
tpallini is offline  
Old Dec 30, 13, 10:28 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Programs: United, Delta, AA, southwest
Posts: 146
First time I used GE, I did not get an X.
tapeguy is offline  
Old Dec 30, 13, 10:59 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Programs: United MileagePlus Silver, Nexus, Global Entry
Posts: 8,791
Originally Posted by tapeguy View Post
First time I used GE, I did not get an X.
Same here, although I'm Canadian with both Nexus & GE, so not sure if that makes a difference.

(I use GE to enter the USA, not Nexus, unless GE kiosk is offline.)
gglave is offline  
Old Dec 30, 13, 11:06 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Programs: AA EXP, Marriott Amb Elite & LT Titanium, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 1,145
There apparently are multiple reasons for getting an 'X'. The one that does not seem to be publicized is that if you've been arrested in the past, you will get the 'X' the first time. While there are many accounts of people having trouble getting GE because of past arrests (even when later dismissed etc), this 'X' is showing up, obviously, after you have been approved.

It is quite odd, since the application only asks about convictions. At the interview they ask you if you've been arrested. If you have been they do not approve you on the spot there is some additional review, which can take a week or two. Then once you are approved you get an 'X' the first time through GE, where you'll have to go through additional screening (which you would never go through in the regular line). After that you have to call your GE office to ask them to suppress 'X'. Which may or may not happen.
deac83 is offline  
Old Dec 30, 13, 11:42 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Washington, DC
Programs: UA 1K, AA, DL, LH, VX, HA
Posts: 5,977
Originally Posted by tapeguy View Post
First time I used GE, I did not get an X.
Same.

I have never received an X, with 10+ uses.
drewguy is offline  
Old Dec 31, 13, 5:08 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: MKE
Posts: 2,161
Originally Posted by deac83 View Post
It is quite odd, since the application only asks about convictions. At the interview they ask you if you've been arrested. If you have been they do not approve you on the spot there is some additional review, which can take a week or two. Then once you are approved you get an 'X' the first time through GE, where you'll have to go through additional screening (which you would never go through in the regular line). After that you have to call your GE office to ask them to suppress 'X'. Which may or may not happen.
I was never asked about arrests. We spent more time engaging in idle chit chat than anything else.
RSVP is offline  
Old Jan 1, 14, 2:16 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Canary Wharf, London
Programs: MyWaitrose, IC Spire Ambassador, Hilton Diamond & BAEC Gold
Posts: 2,477
Originally Posted by tpallini View Post
I just got Global Entry and an planning to fly up to Toronto, I've heard that the first time you use the kiosk to re enter the country you automatically get an X because it's your first time. Any truth to this?

Thanks
Have a read of this
chistery is offline  
Old Feb 18, 14, 2:06 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 297
This happened to me today the first time I used the system...

Back in July I was wrongfully arrested and the charges were immediately dismissed. The judge even took the unusual step of issuing an order that found me factually innocent and ordered all records of the arrest (including fingerprints, mugshot, police reports, court records) sealed and ultimately "obliterated."

Flash forward to my GE application in December, I obviously brought it up and provided the proper documentation without being asked to do so. Was approved on the spot.

However, because California (and their communication with the Feds) is so slow, the destruction of the arrest records takes upwards of a year. So today when I went through GE for the first time, I got the big X. The CBP agent told me this always happens if you have a prior arrest, even if you disclose it in your GE application. It has to do with the fingerprints matching a database. They have to take some information from you and "override" the system, which will prevent this from happening once this data is processed. Seems silly and they should do this when you first apply, rather than after you go through the first time.

Last edited by USCTrojan83; Feb 18, 14 at 2:15 am
USCTrojan83 is offline  
Old Feb 18, 14, 1:12 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: HNL
Programs: Au: UA, Marriott, Hilton; Ex-HA Pt (now not), GE
Posts: 6,216
Never got an X. Never arrested, either.
747FC is offline  
Old Feb 21, 14, 3:03 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ORD
Programs: BA, AA, SQ, UA, LH, MR TIT, IHG GLD
Posts: 8,073
I have been using GE/NEXUS for the last 3 years and I have never got an X despite my heavy international travel.
NA-Flyer is online now  
Old Jan 15, 15, 1:38 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 96
Is this really true: X on first use with old arrest record.
SPYDER67 is offline  
Old Jan 16, 15, 9:08 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MYF/CMA/SAN/YYZ/YKF
Programs: COdbaUA 1K MM, AA EXP, Bonbon Gold, Omni Black, Hertz PC, NEXUS and GE
Posts: 5,445
I did not get an X the first time I used GE.

I've only gotten 2 Xs.

The first was when I declared over my duty free allowance. That was before they started doing the O's, I think.

The second was just recently. The kiosk at YYZ T3 showed BUR as my flight's destination, not DFW. I hit the wrong button when correcting it and it sent me to passport control.
N1120A is offline  
Old Jan 17, 15, 11:35 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: London
Programs: AA EXP, SPG Plt
Posts: 2,567
I got an X on first use and first use after renewal as well 5 years later.
BobbySteel is offline  
Old Jan 17, 15, 11:59 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Programs: DL Platinum, KE Morning Calm
Posts: 96
I did not get an X on my first time or subsequently (3 times). Interesting that there are so many who do get an X on the first go!
Mandafly is offline  
Old Jan 19, 15, 5:45 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1,380
Originally Posted by SPYDER67 View Post
Is this really true: X on first use with old arrest record.
It wasn't with me.
emrdoc is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: