Search

Recharging in Seoul and Osaka/Kyoto/Tokyo for 21 days

Search this Thread

Old Mar 16, 2024, 5:31 pm
Original Poster

Programs: BAEC Gold (1w Emerald), United Platinum (*G), Marriott Plat Elite
Recharging in Seoul and Osaka/Kyoto/Tokyo for 21 days

Introduction

My partner and I have been working for the same company for past 5 years, meaning we earned our "recharge" - 1 paid month off in addition to your usual PTO. We were considering spending it in New Zealand but we settled on South Korea and Japan! It will be our first time there and the longest continuous time off work since graduation. (and time to celebrate my partner's recent promotion too)

Booking Flights + Hotels

Booking flights was a little challenge, we had only started planning in early January. I wanted to fly J for comfort but could not find a good deal with my stash of Avios and Amex MR points, so started looking for cash fares. There were a couple we considered:
- LOT had a ex-ZRH ~2k GBP fare with departure from ZRH/LON/few other cities via BUD or WAW. Their business class is sadly 2-2-2 and was not the most appealing to me
- AF had a sale ex-ZRH, for ~2400 GBP you could fly similar open-jaw but there were not 2 seats available; the price then jumped to 4k / person.
- I kept looking at the Premium Fare Deals forum to see if LH/LX fare to/from HKG/ICN can be manipulated into -ICN/TYO- but did not succeed, we did not want to take another flight excluding any positioning.

Coincidentally I found Etihad's sale where open-jaw MUC-ICN/TYO-FRA was 2100GBP/person in J! We snatched this immediately, the avgeek in me is happy with trying out the Etihad's new 787 and A350 business seat to AUH / from TYO respectively.