Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Community > Trip Reports
Reload this Page >

From a one-man Wolf Pack to a forty-six man Wolf Pack! Israel 2017!

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 10, 2017, 11:39 am
Original Poster

Programs: Delta Skymiles Gold Card holder, JetBlue Trueblue, HiltonHonors, Hertz #1 Club Gold

Hello again everyone and Shalom! Since my last trip report to Walt Disney World in January 2016, a lot has changed in my life. While I am still studying to go into healthcare (albeit still taking non-matriculated courses at a nearby university to make up for courses I did not take undergrad due to majoring in Sociology), I am now living in beautiful Delray Beach, FL with my mother as of eight months ago. Before that, I lived in Westbury, NY, about 40-50 minutes outside of New York City. From June 19th, 2017 to July 2nd, 2017 (July 3rd adding in the flight from JFK-FLL), I had the amazing opportunity to go on Birthright to Israel, which was very important to me as not only is it truly an amazing nation, I am spiritually connected to it due to my Jewish heritage. What is Birthright you may ask? Also known as Taglit Birthright Israel, it was started in 1999 and founded by Charles Bronfman and Michael Steinhardt. The program is a non-profit, so it enables participants ages 18-26 to enjoy a free (well, almost due to a $250 refundable deposit) 10-day trip around Israel to see this fantastic nation and further discover their Jewish heritage. There are many different organizers based on interest (i.e. outdoor activities) as well as Jewish denomination (such as Orthodox and Reform groups). I opted to travel with Orthodox Union-Israel Free Spirit, as I wanted to go with a group that was slightly more religious as Judaism means a lot to me and my Rabbi, who is an Orthodox-outreach Rabbi and did my Bar-Mitzvah 12-years ago gave them high-praise. Initially, I was a little worried I would feel a bit like a fish-out-of-water as I do not keep Shabbat perfect