Wiki Posts
Search

A Week in the Good 'ol People's Republic

Search this Thread

Old Mar 1, 2015, 9:39 pm
Original Poster

Programs: BA Silver, SQ Gold, MAR Plat, Hilton Gold
A Week in the Good 'ol People's Republic: CA Y/J, Ritz Shenzhen

To preface, I am a student in high school, travelling with my parents, so this TR will be written from such a perspective. This is my first TR, so critiques (kritiks for the debaters) are welcome.

I was originally planning to do a quick 2-3 day tour of Singapore for the AA PLT status challenge during spring break, but alas, my grandfather passed away. While I was unable to make it to the funeral, I have decided to accompany my grandfather to the ancestral home of Confucius, where he will rest. So most of the "planning" below took space in a period of 14 hours after the service date was announced.

As such, I chose to simply eat the AA cancellation fees and booked my family on a flight to Beijing on the Air China IAH-PEK nonstop, hopefully bidding for upgrades. My father and I are large electronics nuts, so we decided to make a detour over to Guangzhou, where my mother could also conveniently visit old friends in Shenzhen.

Now to figure out where to stay. I am always an advocate for staying in hotels, but my parents had other plans . In Beijing, we almost always stay with a family member, so no surprises there. I had originally planned to stay at the W Guangzhou, which seems marvelous, for 2 nights and stay 1 night in Shenzhen at the Grand Hyatt. Sadly, as things go in relations between Asians, a wrench was thrown into this careful planning. So in the end, we decided upon staying for 1 night in Guangzhou with a friend, and 1 night at the Ritz Carlton Shenzhen (not for the points, but for the experience), and one night in a friend's rental apartment that is empty for the time being.

The final itinerary is as below
2015-03-07 CA996- IAH-PEK in Y, hopeful bid to C 77W
2015-03-08 CA1351- PEK-CAN, 772, Y