Wiki Posts
Search

Mini TR - UK to Hawaii for the day

Search this Thread

Old Dec 31, 2014, 9:59 am
Original Poster

Programs: BAEC Gold
Mini TR - UK to Hawaii for the day

Well, it seemed like a good idea at the time I thought, as I boarded the second of six flights in a 72 hour marathon Tier Point run. I’ve never done a TP run before but the lure of Gold in one trip for a touch over £1000 was too much (as was, I admit, a bit of FOMO).

As a bit of background for those who don't frequent the BAEC board BA was offering business class flights to the US and elsewhere for around 1000UKP.

I won’t dwell on the BA part of the trip on a B747 as such trips are well documented. Suffice to say a cold bus stop was an inauspicious start to a long trip but the X26 gets me almost from the door to Hatton Cross for a quick change onto the Piccadilly line to T5.

Not quite as comfy as a BA lounge

Lesson 1 – as I had plenty of time I stayed on the bus to Heathrow Central and headed for the HEX service to T5. Do not do this! First of all HEX is a much longer walk from the bus station than the tube and the first train expected when I arrived was 19 minutes (and looked like there had already been a long wait). I jogged back to the Piccadilly line and was in the terminal before the HEX would have arrived at T123.

Flight : LHR-JFK
Airline: BA
Flight: BA175
Plane: B747
Class: J

Upper deck on BA175 to JFK was uneventful. I’d forgotten how useful the side bins are though.

A couple of photos of the lunch.

Starter and salad

Beef main

Afternoon tea (Unpacking the sandwiches would be a much better presentation?)