Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Olympics in Athens 2004 - Lodging?

Search this Thread

Old Nov 19, 2003, 9:54 am
Original Poster

Olympics in Athens 2004 - Lodging?

I am looking for lodging options for the Olympics in August, award bookings or paid. Not suprisingly, all of the major chains are full. I am looking for other creative options. Thanks.
Old Nov 19, 2003, 11:21 am

Programs: SPG Titanium, United Premier 1K
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by toddpate:
I am looking for lodging options for the Olympics in August, award bookings or paid. Not suprisingly, all of the major chains are full. I am looking for other creative options. Thanks.</font>
I have tried using top tiers status in most of the major chains but to no avail... good luck finding an award stay... a private apartment rental might be a better idea.
Old Nov 19, 2003, 11:41 am
Suspended

Programs: I do this for a living.
No hotel booking service will be able to help you - all hotel space is reserved for distribution through Olympic channels.

In Sydney there were many services which paired up private homeowners with Olympic tourists. I used one such service sponsored by the Olympic committee and found lodging this way.
Old Nov 19, 2003, 11:45 am

Buzz?
Old Nov 19, 2003, 12:01 pm

Actually I am in the same boat so to speak. I am supposed to be in Athens for work during the Olympic week.

I am unable to find a hotel room anywhere...
Any ideas?
Old Nov 19, 2003, 12:47 pm

Programs: dont matter anymore...
toddpate,

This really has nothing to do with miles or points, so I'm going to move it over to TravelBuzz!

Flipside
Old Nov 19, 2003, 4:07 pm

Location: CP-ASEL,AMEL,G-IA in Tucson, Arizona, United States
I think it might be easier to obtain lodging by qualifying as an athlete
Old Nov 19, 2003, 4:48 pm

Programs: Hilton, AA,, Delta
http://www.hotels-greece-athens.com/...2004/index.htm

http://www.kmtravel.gr/olympicgames/hotels.html