Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > TravelBuzz
Reload this Page >

Around the world in a 737?

Around the world in a 737?

Old Mar 14, 2001, 8:15 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Programs: United
Posts: 1,978
Around the world in a 737?

Is it possible to fly around the world in a 737? I'm talking about regularly scheduled airline service. I know that you can fly from Australia to Fiji and other Pacific islands in a 737. Can you get to Midway? If so, you can then fly on an Aloha 737 to Honolulu then to Oakland, California. From there, you can fly across the U.S. on far too many 737s. But what about over the Atlantic? This includes from South America to Europe or Africa. From Europe or Africa, I'm sure you could work your way to Australia on 737s.
PremEx2000 is offline  
Old Mar 14, 2001, 8:45 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Southwest Desert, under a rock, watch out! ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~<" You can get there, but it's gonna cost you!
Programs: Previously NonePass®, now UA 1K (*Enhanced*)
Posts: 4,248
Man.... talk about self abuse.
snake is offline  
Old Mar 14, 2001, 8:59 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: SEA
Posts: 3,178
Planning a trip for your mother-in-law?
shadow is offline  
Old Mar 14, 2001, 9:43 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Programs: FB Silver going for Gold
Posts: 21,883
It's possible except for mid-Atlantic to North America.

YVR-HNL (73G-FJ) or OAK-HNL (HA), HNL-NAN-SYD/AKL (FJ), AKL-SYD (NZ/QF/AN)

SYD - QF or AN SYD-DRW, possibly to some place in Indonesia for a Silk Air or other carrier to BKK.

Might be able to do HNL-HKG via Air Micronesia 738.

Connections across Asia from BKK/HKG on a P.R.C. airline, continuing wth TG & one of the India airlines to the west of India and possibly on to the middle east by one of the gulf state carriers. BA franchisees fly from the Mediterrenean to London.

BA (GO) to KEF. Here's the catch now. No 737 service from Iceland (or anywhere else on the Atlantic coast) to N. America.
YVR Cockroach is online now  
Old Mar 14, 2001, 12:32 pm
  #5  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 2,593
not quite right--I believe that Icelandair flies 737s from Keflavik to Halifax, thence connecting to AC (I assume they still have a CP 737 going somewhere from YHZ), to YYZ, to ORD, to wherever!
jamiel is offline  
Old Mar 14, 2001, 1:25 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Programs: FB Silver going for Gold
Posts: 21,883
Thanks. I assmed FI's KEF-YHZ service was a stop for their BOS/BWI service thus was on a 757.
YVR Cockroach is online now  
Old Mar 14, 2001, 2:08 pm
  #7  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: London
Programs: BA Gold, ex-BD Gold, SPG Gold, HH Gold
Posts: 2,041
FI flies to BOS and BWI non-stop from KEF, but I believe on 757; I can't speak for Halifax. They're also supposedly in the process of converting the entire fleet to 757s, so that leg could still prove a challenge. At least until the completion of the fleet changeover, FI also flies 737s from KEF to some Continental European destinations.
chalf is offline  
Old Mar 14, 2001, 4:46 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Programs: BA GGL, FPC Plat, HH Diamond, IHG Amb
Posts: 3,372
KEF YHZ is still a 737, for now.

But I agree--talk about self-abuse.

AND think about the fare:

FJ: YVR HNL/X NAD/X BNE CAD1525.00
QF: BNE DAR/X DPS CAD 701.00
BO: DPS YOG/X CGK/X SIN CAD 449.00
MI: SIN RGN CAD 744.23

[We up to CAD3419.23, and we aren't even out of SE Asia! This is as far as I have gotten, and I have to go to a meeting now. I'll figure out how to get to India and the Gulf later... ]

AC*SE is offline  
Old Mar 14, 2001, 4:53 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: New York, NY, USA
Programs: Lifetime: UA Gold, AA Gold, & Marriott Titanium
Posts: 1,352
On the pacific leg, you could also do Aloha to HNL, then Continental Micronesia Island hopper to Guam and on to HKG.

The atlantic route is the hard part. The FI flight to Halifax is a 757. First Air flies from Iqualit, Nunavut (YFB) to Kangerlussuaq, Greenland (SFJ) on a 737. You should be able to get to YFB from YYZ, YOW, or YUL on a 737. On the other side, you can get from continental Europe to KEF easily on a 737. The question then is can you get from KEF to Greenland on a 737.

As best as I can determine, the answer is no. Air Iceland seems to fly to Kulusuk (KUS) and maybe Narsarsuaq (UAK) but the largest plane they fly is a Fokker 50. So maybe if we change the question to can you fly around the world using only 737s and turboprops, the answer would be yes.

[This message has been edited by Dudster (edited 03-14-2001).]
Dudster is offline  
Old Mar 14, 2001, 4:54 pm
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Programs: United
Posts: 1,978
"But I agree--talk about self-abuse"

Hey, I didn't say I wanted to do it. In fact, it seems like a miserable thing to do. I'm just wondering if it's possible. It would be pretty wild if it were.
PremEx2000 is offline  
Old Mar 14, 2001, 4:59 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: New York, NY, USA
Programs: Lifetime: UA Gold, AA Gold, & Marriott Titanium
Posts: 1,352
Originally posted by AC*SE:
KEF YHZ is still a 737, for now.
I just checked Iceland Air's website and they are showing this as a 757-200

Dudster is offline  
Old Mar 15, 2001, 12:12 am
  #12  
jet
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Everywhere
Programs: UA MM; DL SPG HH Gold
Posts: 635
I think the only 737 I'd want to do this in would be a BBJ...
jet is offline  
Old Mar 15, 2001, 7:37 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 213
If you are really interested in this sort of thing, I might suggest another group I am in: [email protected]

FYI to other listmembers, this is a very good group for general airline info for Airline/Airliner enthusiasts such as myself!
ExGateAgt is offline  
Old May 7, 2015, 4:26 pm
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Programs: FB Silver going for Gold
Posts: 21,883
Fun to revive this thread....

Now that the Atlantic gap will be closed.

WS (Westjet) is starting/restarting Canada-GLA and DUB service so it will be perfectly feasible to cross the Atlantic on a 737.

So far, I can see

DUB-YYT or GLA-YHZ with 737 connections on WS to YVR-HNL. FJ picks up with HNL-NAN-SYD, QF SYD-DRW, MH DRW_KUL-BOM, MS BOM-CAI-ATH, assuming FR flights are all 737 (website has no a/c info), then ATH-STN-GLA/DUB

http://www.gcmap.com/map?P=gla-yhz-y...X=720x360&PM=*

Last edited by YVR Cockroach; May 7, 2015 at 4:36 pm
YVR Cockroach is online now  
Old May 7, 2015, 5:20 pm
  #15  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: PSM
Posts: 69,232
Don't forget the UA Island Hopper. Can get you all the way from EWR-HKG on a 737. I booked such last April; MX issues caused some trouble, but that saves the Australia "diversion" if you don't want that.

Link goes to my blog. Someone decided that's important to share.
sbm12 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.