Community
Wiki Posts
Search

A couple questions about customs from an inexperienced international flyer

Search this Thread

Old Jun 28, 2011, 12:41 pm
Original Poster

A couple questions about customs from an inexperienced international flyer

As the title indicates, I am a novice international flyer who is a US native currently in Russia in the midst of a 5 week study abroad program. I've always been fine traveling domestically and do so a regular (though infrequent) basis, but don't have the knowledge of traveling abroad that I'd like in order to feel comfortable with anything more than a rigid path. Getting to Russia was a fairly simple endeavor because my flight itinerary was normal for eastbound travel to Europe (overnight KLM 777-200ER from JFK to AMS, then 737-800 to LED four hours after arrival in AMS) and because arrangements for entering the country and had been taken care of as part of the program. The return leg, which I'll fly in late July, is more complicated because I am not directly returning home, nor do I have what I assume you travelers here deem a reasonable itinerary (I can't afford anything but the cheapest option, being a college student) for returning to America, because I am detouring to Puerto Rico to visit a friend there and enjoy the beautiful weather, beaches, and atmosphere. The itinerary has me leaving LED in the late afternoon and arriving in AMS two hours later. My return flight to JFK leaves the following afternoon, resulting in a 22 hour layover in Amsterdam. The flight arrives in JFK in the early evening, obviously, and then the flight to SJU leaves the following morning.