Wiki Posts
Search

My beef with TripIt

Search this Thread

Old Nov 6, 2010, 9:28 pm
Original Poster

Programs: VS Gold, QPPS, CX, DJ, SG, AA, NH
My beef with TripIt

I know there's quite a few fliers out there who use TripIt as part of planning and managing travel.

I've been using it for the past three years as a paid subscriber, and after planning a two week trip in Asia starting from tomorrow, there's a number of things about it which really annoy the heck out of me.

I've decided after months of waiting for TripIt to get its act together, trying to work with their support people to get simple but important improvements and fixes going, that enough is enough.

Their lack of action needs more of a public discussion and airing, particularly amongst the frequent flyer community who use their product. As such, I've written an article as part of my trip report, titled My beef with TripIt.

The article covers a selection of the most annoying bugs and user interface issues I come across while using the service. In having a vent about TripIt, I'd love to know what others think too.

Do you use it? Do you find the same problems? If you're a free user, is it good enough for you to upgrade? Do my issues sway your opinions of the site?

Love to hear your input and views, if only to work out if it's just a user experience person finding things nobody else is - or there is actually more to it and this is actually a real issue/annoyance for users.
Old Nov 6, 2010, 9:44 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: Amex Gold/Plat, UA *G, Hyatt Globalist, Marriott LT Gold, NEXUS, TSA Disparager Unobtanium
Interesting read. I've been using TripIt for about a year, and I have not had many problems. I don't use it to check weather, instead I use it to have the info in one place when I might need to pull it up.. There are times when I wish that it would be easier to fix info when I've got a schedule change, but overall, it suits my needs.
Old Nov 6, 2010, 9:45 pm
In Memoriam