Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

Vista SP1 is now available

Vista SP1 is now available

Reply

Old Mar 18, 08, 10:38 am
  #1  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Newport Beach, California, USA
Posts: 36,062
Vista SP1 is now available

Full download here:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...DisplayLang=en

This is the complete SP1 update, i.e. it contains many hotpatches and fixes that were included in the incremental updates. SP1 is supposed to be available later today via Windows Update, and this will be a smaller download, as it will be customized to the downloading computer's installation.
PTravel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 08, 10:40 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 37,488
You mean it's available to the general public

It was available through Technet a month ago. It has fixed quite a few things, but there are still a few loose ends they need to sort out...
ScottC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 08, 10:44 am
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Newport Beach, California, USA
Posts: 36,062
Originally Posted by ScottC View Post
You mean it's available to the general public

It was available through Technet a month ago. It has fixed quite a few things, but there are still a few loose ends they need to sort out...
Indeed.

Also, I'd recommend that, before installing SP1, everyone do a full backup of their computers . . . just in case.
PTravel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 08, 11:59 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Newport Beach, California, USA
Posts: 36,062
Update

I've just installed the SP1 update. Installation was without any problems and completely automatic. It did, however, take nearly an hour and involved several reboots. However, I'm now running my Vaio SZ440 with Vista Business SP1. It's too early to say whether this will fix some of the weird bugs I've experienced over the last year. Time will tell.
PTravel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 08, 12:03 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: BOS
Posts: 3,526
Is it any faster? I'm happily on XP Pro on my previously Vista Business equipped laptop.
Lurker1999 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 08, 12:34 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Newport Beach, California, USA
Posts: 36,062
Originally Posted by Lurker1999 View Post
Is it any faster? I'm happily on XP Pro on my previously Vista Business equipped laptop.
It's hard to tell, but most reports that I've read said any speed increase in SP1 is relatively nominal. I've been quite happy with the speed of my laptop, with the exception of the copy function. I'll have to try it to see if that's been improved.
PTravel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 08, 12:56 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SFOSJCOAK
Programs: AA-EXP & 1MM, AS MVPG 75K, MR-LT Titanium
Posts: 5,562
PTravel,
Thanks for the heads-up about SP1 update. Just downloaded and installed. Boy, it took about 35-40 minutes to simply get it installed! Seem like eternity!
Hope it solves the USB problem that I currently experiencing.
To me, Vista has been buggy, compared to XP.
allset2travel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 08, 1:12 pm
  #8  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,053
Originally Posted by Lurker1999 View Post
Is it any faster? I'm happily on XP Pro on my previously Vista Business equipped laptop.
I wouldn't expect it to be. The only major speed improvement that I can think of that they supposedly addressed was the issue with copying to a Windows server. Most of the generic "it is slower" stuff won't change. The OS is a bigger resource hog and there isn't much that the SP is going to change there.
sbm12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 08, 6:05 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: FRA/CGN
Programs: LH Sen, SPG Platinium, Sixt Platinum
Posts: 256
I installed it via windows update, took me aprox 15 Min.

Greetz
Bembel-Terrorist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 08, 6:06 pm
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Programs: statusless these days
Posts: 19,235
The network copy is what is said to be faster. Just got my invitation to update.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/servl...echnology/home
YVR Cockroach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 08, 8:50 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SFOSJCOAK
Programs: AA-EXP & 1MM, AS MVPG 75K, MR-LT Titanium
Posts: 5,562
Originally Posted by allset2travel View Post
......
Hope it solves the USB problem that I currently experiencing.
My USB problem is now history. Not sure if it was SP1 that did it. But I am happy that my system is healthy again. Thanks.
allset2travel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 08, 1:44 pm
  #12  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 13,344
Ok quick question. When I do the auto update through microsoft, it doesn't give me the option to download and install SP1. The link above takes you to a page where you can download it BUT it says not for install on a single computer.

How do I get SP1? I would like to get rid of some of the quirks which this allegedly fixes.
MapleLeaf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 08, 2:19 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Programs: Lifetime AA Gold-1MM
Posts: 4,909
Originally Posted by MapleLeaf View Post
Ok quick question. When I do the auto update through microsoft, it doesn't give me the option to download and install SP1. The link above takes you to a page where you can download it BUT it says not for install on a single computer.

How do I get SP1? I would like to get rid of some of the quirks which this allegedly fixes.
Did you try the link in the first message? It takes you right to a download page.
BLI-Flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 08, 2:59 pm
  #14  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 13,344
Originally Posted by BLI-Flyer View Post
Did you try the link in the first message? It takes you right to a download page.
Yes I did and that is where I found the message that the download is not for single computers, hence my question.
MapleLeaf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 08, 3:03 pm
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 37,488
Originally Posted by MapleLeaf View Post
Yes I did and that is where I found the message that the download is not for single computers, hence my question.
It's just their way of saying they'd prefer you download the one through Windows Update since it only sends you the parts you really need.

The large one linked to will work just fine for you.
ScottC is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread