Wiki Posts
Search

Asus EEE PC now available...

Search this Thread

Old Oct 31, 2007, 7:42 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

Asus EEE PC now available...

It isn't the magical $199 price point, but $399 for a sub notebook like this ain't bad...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16834220244
Old Nov 4, 2007, 10:19 am

Programs: AA LT Gold, 1.5MM, Marriot
I just got mine yesterday. It's fantastic. I've moved it from the easy "Fisher Price" mode it comes with to the KDE full desktop mode and that turns it into a "real computer" pretty quickly. I'm a complete Linux novice (the Eee can run Windows, but you have to get a) an external CD drive, b) an external hard drive, and c) Windows to install it) so I'm just now learning how to install software.

Comes with OpenOffice, Skype, Pidgin messenger, and a bunch of other stuff installed. Out of the package, the webcam won't work with Skype or Pidgin, but I'm told it will work with amsn (MSN Messenger clone for Linux) and am working on installing that now. I used Skype last night to talk to my BF in the UK and was able to talk without a handset or headphones and we heard each other very clearly. The microphone and speakers are quite good.

The Eee PC is just a little bigger than a DVD case and I am totally amazed at how light it is. I'm totally excited about taking it to London in a couple of weeks. Eee!

GG
Old Nov 4, 2007, 10:25 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: UA plus
Cool ... I want to wait for the next one and hope to rely on that for most of my mobile needs once it's available. Good to know that a novice can handle the system pretty easily
Old Nov 4, 2007, 10:35 am

Programs: AA LT Gold, 1.5MM, Marriot
Originally Posted by GoingAway
Cool ... I want to wait for the next one and hope to rely on that for most of my mobile needs once it's available. Good to know that a novice can handle the system pretty easily