Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Powering a portable monitor via USB-C

Search this Thread

Old Dec 21, 2018, 1:33 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

Programs: AA EXP, HH Diamond, IHG Plat, Hyatt Plat, Marriott Plat, Nat'l Exec Elite, Avis Presidents Club
Powering a portable monitor via USB-C

I've got a Dell Precision 5520 laptop that has a Thunderbolt 3 port (USB-C form factor).

I'd like to get a portable monitor for it that is powered via a USB-C port. (Video is handled separately, via mini-DP or mini-HDMI... USB-C is only for power.) The power supply included with said monitor is rated for 12V 2A. I don't see any documentation on how much the display actually draws, so I am assuming near the full amount for the time being.

On Dell's Thunderbolt FAQ page here, it says "Type-C can supply 100 Watts of power charging for a 15W device."

I'm far from an electrical engineer, so can anyone help me understand this? A 15W device would only ever draw 15W, wouldn't it? So I don't understand what it means by supplying 100 watts of power charging for a 15W device. In a nutshell, I'm trying to figure out whether I can safely power this portable monitor, which in the absence of other documentation I assume to be 24W, via the laptop's port.
Old Dec 21, 2018, 1:54 am

The USB-PD standard covers charging up to 100W (20V/5A) over a USB-C connection, but it's unlikely your laptop's ports can output anything other than 5V.

Dell's page appears to have some editing errors--my guess is that the sentence you quoted should say "can supply 100W of power for charging or power a 15W device"--but here's a graphic from the same page that makes more sense:

Thunderbolt 3 supports 100W input (i.e. for charging your laptop on those laptops that charge over USB-C), but can only output 15W (5V/3A) for charging or powering devices.

Unfortunately, that means you'll have to continue to use a brick to power the monitor if it needs 12V.