Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

how do you handle international data connectivity?

how do you handle international data connectivity?

Old Apr 18, 2017, 3:57 pm
  #76  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cleveland, OH
Programs: UA-GS 1MM), Hertz Pres Circle, Starriott Titanium)
Posts: 1,966
Originally Posted by PackingIt
No wifi at work. So consuming cellular data much of the time.
Aha... there's the problem. When I'm not traveling or at a client site, I'm in the home office. Pretty much everywhere I go, there is wifi and/or I just don't have the time to download much of anything besides email/news/the occasional podcast.

I think my record since having FI was 4gb of usage in a month, and that was when I was roaming in Jamaica where the hotel internet was useless.
LordHamster is offline  
Old Apr 19, 2017, 1:25 pm
  #77  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Detroit; Formerly Dubai
Posts: 3,650
Originally Posted by elluke
This topic is new to me but I think I got it, after reading many threads.
I am going to South Africa for two weeks. I have an unlocked ATT iphone 6 (US).

Paying $10 a day to ATT seems ridiculous so I'm looking at the following. Correct me if I am wrong in my thinking.
1) Buy a local SIM card for calls & data. Arriving late to airport so vendors might be closed. Can I easily find a place to get a SIM in Cape Town the next day? What kind of place? Do you buy a SIM card plus a voice and data plan? How does it work?

2) If I don't need to make phone calls, buy an international hotspot device and use that for all data.
There are a lot of good things to say about traveling with a hotspot, but the one bad thing that is often forgotten is that a hotspot doesn't manage your data consumption. Many phones and tablets simply treat a hotspot as something that doesn't need to be metered or triaged. Thus, you might accidentally download a 1 gig system update or the equivalent while using a 2g PAYG SIM card.
Dubai Stu is offline  
Old Apr 24, 2017, 12:54 am
  #78  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Francisco/Sydney
Programs: UA 1K/MM, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Something, IHG Gold, Hertz PC, Avis PC
Posts: 8,119
Originally Posted by Dubai Stu
TMany phones and tablets simply treat a hotspot as something that doesn't need to be metered or triaged.
At least for recent(-ish) versions of Android you can configure this. You can set a specific wifi SID as being metered, in which case it'll be treated much like a standard cellular data connection rather than wifi when it comes to things like app updates.
docbert is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.