Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

ATT unlimited data & international day pass ?'s

ATT unlimited data & international day pass ?'s

Old Mar 2, 2017, 11:05 am
  #31  
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: ORD/MDW
Programs: AA EXP, DL-Plat, WN-CP | Hotels: Choice-Gld, IHG-Plt, Rad-Gld, HH-Dia, Hyatt-Glob, Marriott-LtPlt
Posts: 2,888
Originally Posted by Need
Interesting. Site still not working for me.
+1
FindAWay is offline  
Old Mar 2, 2017, 11:36 am
  #32  
Four Seasons Contributor BadgeAman 5+ Badge
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Baltimore MD
Posts: 3,456
Originally Posted by Need
Interesting. Site still not working for me. I will check it in the afternoon to see if they fixed it. Probably not going to switch to unlimited anyway as now I ported out 5 lines... 30GB is enough for the rest. It is cheaper to pay $15 per line instead of $20. I already have both Canada and Mexico roaming grandfathered it so going unlimited doesn't gain much.
if I try to check out the price is correct aka bad.

Fdw
FlyingDoctorwu is offline  
Old Mar 2, 2017, 1:21 pm
  #33  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,779
Website is working now. Confirmed NO FAN discount on the new plan.
Side by Side compare
Old Plan: $32.50 discount
New Plan: <blank>
Need is offline  
Old Mar 2, 2017, 3:30 pm
  #34  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Cupertino, CA - AA:PLT 2MM; Marriott:Plt; Hilton:Slv
Posts: 560
Originally Posted by dmbolp
Which plan qualifies for international unlimited data?
No new ones that I'm aware of, sadly. That's why I keep it...will have to pry it out of my cold dead hands.
gwade is offline  
Old Mar 2, 2017, 9:05 pm
  #35  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ATL
Posts: 1,895
Originally Posted by gwade
No new ones that I'm aware of, sadly. That's why I keep it...will have to pry it out of my cold dead hands.
So I've had the grandfathered unlimited data plan for 8+ years, do all old grandfathered plans have unlimited international data, or did you have to add it at some point?
dmbolp is online now  
Old Mar 3, 2017, 9:26 am
  #36  
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: ORD/MDW
Programs: AA EXP, DL-Plat, WN-CP | Hotels: Choice-Gld, IHG-Plt, Rad-Gld, HH-Dia, Hyatt-Glob, Marriott-LtPlt
Posts: 2,888
Originally Posted by dmbolp
So I've had the grandfathered unlimited data plan for 8+ years, do all old grandfathered plans have unlimited international data[?] ...,
No.
FindAWay is offline  
Old Mar 3, 2017, 8:06 pm
  #37  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Cupertino, CA - AA:PLT 2MM; Marriott:Plt; Hilton:Slv
Posts: 560
Originally Posted by dmbolp
So I've had the grandfathered unlimited data plan for 8+ years, do all old grandfathered plans have unlimited international data, or did you have to add it at some point?
You had to have had it originally, it was priced at $65 bucks when the domestic plan was typically $30.
gwade is offline  
Old Mar 11, 2017, 6:42 pm
  #38  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ATL
Posts: 1,895
Originally Posted by dmbolp
I have 3 lines sharing a FamilyTalk 550 minute/month plan, unlimited text, grandfathered unlimited data on 2 of the phones, $25/month for 2 iPhones, and I pay $267/month.

Why am I sticking with the grandfathered data plan and old FamilyTalk plan?
Gave up grandfathered unlimited plan today (the 2 phones with unlimited were averaging 3 and 7 gigs), now have unlimited on 3 phones, unlimited text and unlimited talk (was at 550), and switched from credit card payment to debit card. 2 ipads also now have unlimited data.

For International I put the $10/day on my phone (20 days in Europe) and put my wife on the $40 for 30 days of text and some data.
dmbolp is online now  
Old Mar 14, 2017, 6:15 am
  #39  
Aman 5+ BadgeFour Seasons Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Baltimore MD
Posts: 3,456
Does the international day pass for $10 apply to mobile hotspot devices? If so is there really no data limit? I.e. can I bring along my mobile hotspot and pump out a wifi signal to support my iPhones with wifi calling?

anyone with any experience?
fdw
FlyingDoctorwu is offline  
Old Mar 19, 2017, 6:58 pm
  #40  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Programs: DL: PM, Marriott: Gold, Hilton: Gold
Posts: 62
Has anyone been able to confirm that the International Day pass allows Mobile Hotspot? I'm currently on a MobileShare plan and have a 2 week trip coming up to France/Germany. I've used the old model before where I have my phone on the $$$ international plan and then rent a MiFi type device for all my data needs. This seems like I'd be better off to just add Day Pass to my phone and then using HotSpot I can just connect my laptop and iPad thru the phone so I only need to have one device on the Day Pass. I can't find anything specific on the AT&T site that speaks of this one way or the other and history tells me that if it's not specifically allowed, it typically is not included.
donsullivan is offline  
Old Mar 20, 2017, 6:37 pm
  #41  
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Programs: DL MM Plat, PC&HH Gold
Posts: 2,602
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by donsullivan
Has anyone been able to confirm that the International Day pass allows Mobile Hotspot?
Yes. I successfully connected my laptop and my iPad through my phone in Spain last week while using the Day Pass.
doglover is offline  
Old Mar 20, 2017, 11:33 pm
  #42  
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 409
The way the Intl Day Pass is being presented, is that you get to use your plan exactly like you would at home. I would expect tethering to work, and glad to know it does.

Originally Posted by doglover
Yes. I successfully connected my laptop and my iPad through my phone in Spain last week while using the Day Pass.
PackingIt is offline  
Old Mar 21, 2017, 6:17 am
  #43  
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Connecticut
Programs: AA LT plat; Delta Gold; Marriott LT titanium; Hilton Silver
Posts: 292
Originally Posted by doglover
Yes. I successfully connected my laptop and my iPad through my phone in Spain last week while using the Day Pass.
Same here in February in the Caribbean. Worked well.
dougef is offline  
Old Mar 27, 2017, 11:19 am
  #44  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Programs: DL: PM, Marriott: Gold, Hilton: Gold
Posts: 62
Originally Posted by doglover
Yes. I successfully connected my laptop and my iPad through my phone in Spain last week while using the Day Pass.
Awesome, thanks. You never know with AT&T. History has taught me to be cautious on things that are not specifically written down somewhere. That will certainly make it a whole lot easier for international travel.
donsullivan is offline  
Old Mar 29, 2017, 1:35 pm
  #45  
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: It's hot here
Posts: 4,242
I gave up my grandfathered domestic unlimited plan for a shared unlimited and so far, so good. One thing that really got me was that the plan says unlimited will carry to Mexico and Canada which really does me a lot of good and will save a few hundred a year (or being in Canada for short trips with only wi-fi when I don't want to pay).

Cost for three phones is about the same now that I lost the FAN discount, but no more overages on the other phones on my plan. Not all of us are good at managing data.
MissJ is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.