Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

Slow computer assistance

Slow computer assistance

Old Sep 24, 13, 8:11 am
  #1  
Flyertalk Evangelist and Moderator: Coupon Connection and Travel Products
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Athens, GA USA
Programs: Hilton Diamond
Posts: 18,747
Slow computer assistance

Gang,

You are my go to source of technical solutions!

On Sunday, my relatively new Dell X12 laptop started "slowing" down.... mouse moving slower... and websites slower to load.

Ran Charter speed test and no problems there..... reset cable modem/router... no success.

Yesterday, I downloaded Ad-Aware to see if there was anything going on... and it found a few minor things... but no success on the speed.

Also, if I click on a pull down box, the choices do not stay... I have to keep the mouse button pushed to choose the selection.

Any other programs one might suggest to try and find the problem? Or other ideas?

Appreciate any suggestions as always!
wharvey is offline  
Old Sep 24, 13, 8:23 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL, US
Programs: DL-Dirt Medallion;US-Cast Iron Preferred; HH-Gold; Avis First
Posts: 3,614
Try to find out what is using lots of CPU time. From the task bar, right click and open Task Manager. Click the "Processes" tab. From there, click the "CPU" column header to sort by CPU % used. See if any processes are using lots of CPU time. You can also click the "Performance" tab to see what the overall CPU usage % is.
djk7 is offline  
Old Sep 24, 13, 8:34 am
  #3  
Flyertalk Evangelist and Moderator: Coupon Connection and Travel Products
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Athens, GA USA
Programs: Hilton Diamond
Posts: 18,747
I have done those a few times.

Right now:

GFI Software Anti Malware Service using 7.6% (running Ad-Aware again)

DisplayLinkManager using 2.2% (DisplayLink Dock)

Nothing else above 2%

Under Performance, the CPU is jumping between 13% to 25%

Originally Posted by djk7 View Post
Try to find out what is using lots of CPU time. From the task bar, right click and open Task Manager. Click the "Processes" tab. From there, click the "CPU" column header to sort by CPU % used. See if any processes are using lots of CPU time. You can also click the "Performance" tab to see what the overall CPU usage % is.
wharvey is offline  
Old Sep 24, 13, 9:15 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL, US
Programs: DL-Dirt Medallion;US-Cast Iron Preferred; HH-Gold; Avis First
Posts: 3,614
Originally Posted by wharvey View Post
GFI Software Anti Malware Service using 7.6% (running Ad-Aware again)
That seems like a lot to me, is it any better with Ad-Aware disabled?
djk7 is offline  
Old Sep 24, 13, 9:18 am
  #5  
Flyertalk Evangelist and Moderator: Coupon Connection and Travel Products
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Athens, GA USA
Programs: Hilton Diamond
Posts: 18,747
I was having the slow problems before downloading Ad-Aware yesterday.

I have it doing a full scan again this morning.... so sure that is why that is taking up 7.6%.
wharvey is offline  
Old Sep 24, 13, 11:11 am
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Programs: MR/SPG LT Titanium, AA LT PLT, UA SLV, Avis PreferredPlus
Posts: 27,941
I'd try ccleaner and see what that comes up with.

Are you using an external mouse? When mine starts slowing/stuttering/hopping around, it's always either low batteries or a bad signal from the mouse to the USB receiver.

Have you rebooted?
CPRich is offline  
Old Sep 24, 13, 1:44 pm
  #7  
Flyertalk Evangelist and Moderator: Coupon Connection and Travel Products
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Athens, GA USA
Programs: Hilton Diamond
Posts: 18,747
I put in a new battery... no change.... whole internet is slow.

Installed ccleaner and ran.... it deleted some files. No difference.

I have ran Ad-aware three times today... and it keeps saying "Threat detected". I say "Fix Now" and rerun... but keep getting it. And I cannot find what the actual findings were.

Frustrating, to say the least.
wharvey is offline  
Old Sep 24, 13, 2:01 pm
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Freeload Univ. Where are you sitting?
Posts: 14,404
I had a similar problem. Ordinary computer, OS=XP Pro, fresh install.

Noticed it seemed very slow. Checked with Task Manager, and svchost.exe was running 100% cpu - all the time.

It turns out, most of the stuff provided by Microsoft are in the form of .dll's, so they can't execute all by themselves. svchost.exe is a small executable to run the appropriate .dll. You will probably have several instances of svchost running.

I killed the task and the computer immediately speeded up to normal. It turned out, that particular svchost was running the firewall. Since I felt a little "naked" without a firewall, I loaded ZoneAlarm, which is executable all on its own. So that problem was solved.

I usually run Task Manager and minimize it, which leaves a little window on the task bar showing cpu usage. When it turns all green, you know something is hogging the processor.
BigLar is offline  
Old Sep 24, 13, 2:40 pm
  #9  
Flyertalk Evangelist and Moderator: Coupon Connection and Travel Products
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Athens, GA USA
Programs: Hilton Diamond
Posts: 18,747
Yes, it is very frustrating.

Again, Ad-aware gave me the big red error of a "Threat Detected". Then all it finds are cookies. I tell it to fix. Re-run Ad-Aware.... and it just found a "Threat Detected" again.
wharvey is offline  
Old Sep 24, 13, 2:40 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: yyz
Programs: Non-Rev Lifetime
Posts: 1,924
Maybe the old Dell thermistor problem?

http://www.diefer.de/i8kfan/index.html
PropWasher is offline  
Old Sep 24, 13, 2:41 pm
  #11  
Flyertalk Evangelist and Moderator: Coupon Connection and Travel Products
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Athens, GA USA
Programs: Hilton Diamond
Posts: 18,747
I certainly do not hope so... the laptop is two months old....

Originally Posted by PropWasher View Post
Maybe the old Dell thermistor problem?

http://www.diefer.de/i8kfan/index.html
wharvey is offline  
Old Sep 24, 13, 2:45 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 91
Originally Posted by wharvey View Post

Ran Charter speed test and no problems there..... reset cable modem/router... no success.
Appreciate any suggestions as always!
Not sure what you mean by reset. I am not a technician but just because it works for me after a suggestion by my cable company, try this.
* Turn OFF the power to cable modem and wifi router.
* Disconnect the power connection to each item.
* Disconnect the cable modem line input and output connections.
* Reconnect everything and restart.
I usually wait about a minute before reconnecting.

Please do not flame me if it this does not work for you. Your equipment probably is not the me as mine.
.
.
TJR9999 is offline  
Old Sep 24, 13, 2:47 pm
  #13  
Flyertalk Evangelist and Moderator: Coupon Connection and Travel Products
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Athens, GA USA
Programs: Hilton Diamond
Posts: 18,747
I do not flame anyone here... take all suggestions.

What you described is exactly what I did a few times....
wharvey is offline  
Old Sep 24, 13, 2:48 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL, US
Programs: DL-Dirt Medallion;US-Cast Iron Preferred; HH-Gold; Avis First
Posts: 3,614
Originally Posted by BigLar View Post
I had a similar problem. Ordinary computer, OS=XP Pro, fresh install.

Noticed it seemed very slow. Checked with Task Manager, and svchost.exe was running 100% cpu - all the time.

It turns out, most of the stuff provided by Microsoft are in the form of .dll's, so they can't execute all by themselves. svchost.exe is a small executable to run the appropriate .dll. You will probably have several instances of svchost running.
Disabling unneeded Windows services can sometimes help, I've found a couple of system where stopping and disabling the "Superfetch" service made quite an improvement.
djk7 is offline  
Old Sep 24, 13, 3:17 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 68
What browser are you using? I had to terminate some add-ons for Firefox today when it kept freezing up.
dalylink is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: