Wiki Posts
Search

My tech list - too much? too little?

Search this Thread

Old Aug 3, 2012, 3:59 pm
Original Poster

Hi All:

This is my first post here, but I’ve been reading the forums for quite some time. Like many of you, I have to travel for business and want my own communication off my company’s phone/computer,etc.

I would like some opinions of the proposed setup I want to put together and let me know if it’s overkill or not enough. I’m not very tech savvy, so any constructive feedback would be appreciated.

Mainly, I’m looking to be able to use data on my personal phone when traveling to China. Being able to use GPS and translation apps are important.

Anyway, here’s what I was thinking:

Personal phone: I was between getting an unlocked Blu Dash cell phone or a Samsung Galaxy Y Duo (I already bought a PCCW Hong Kong sim card before I left and it does say it will do data when I’m in the mainland). I’m leaning more towards the Samsung. I’m thinking of getting a simple Tmobile card of the US side. I like the idea of a duo sim, because I can give the company driver a local number to call me directly. Any other suggestions for a sub $200 phone is appreciated. I want something decent because I go to China 4xs a year, but the phone's use will only be during that time.

Computer: simple ACER netbook – love this little thing! I got a VPN from Strong VPN and it worked very well on my last trip. Unfortunately, the hotel network was so slow I could not get HBO to go to run on it even though it was set up correctly.

Internet: I can try and use the hotel’s wifi, but I was thinking of finding a way to unlock my old Sprint wifi and maybe slip in a local China sim card in there. I looked into Boingo and I didn't see enough hotspots in my area.

Let me know your thoughts. Thanks in advance!
Old Aug 3, 2012, 8:25 pm

Programs: AA EXP 3MM, UA 1K 2MM, CZ Gld, VS Gld, SPG Lifetime Plt, IC PltAm, Hilton Dmd, Shangrila Diamond