Wiki Posts
Search

McAfee Subscription Costs

Search this Thread

Old Feb 21, 2010, 11:58 am
Original Poster

Programs: UA 2MM, DL MM
McAfee Subscription Costs

I've been using McAfee's Security Center for 2 years now and it has done a great job, especially considering that most of the time the PC is being used by 2 teenagers and my wife, who tend not to pay much attention to potential risks. My current sub runs out next month and McAfee wants $99 for a two year renewal, which seems really steep, as other sites are selling (what seems to be) the same software for as low as $21 for a 12 month sub ( http://www.royaldiscount.com/item/Mc...for_3_PCs/1745 )

Any thoughts on getting McAfee from a trusted source?
Old Feb 21, 2010, 12:29 pm

Programs: Dirt Status w/ All
I've cleaned viruses off computers for three or four friends that were running McCaffee and Norton. AVG found tons of stuff they didn't, for free. It does not slow my system down and is minimally intrusive.

Before you shell out money for any protection software, give it a try at free.avg.com. I've also heard good things about Avast, but have not tried it myself.
Old Feb 21, 2010, 12:38 pm

Programs: F9 Ascent, UA, AA, AS, ICH PA, Hertz PC.....
A recent online review of AV products rated Norton and Kaspersky pretty high, too...and MacAfee down quite a bit. My MacAfee just expired, and will not get renewed...

I may try the AVG route, but am looking strongly at the two listed above - good prices at Costco...

RFTraveler
Old Feb 21, 2010, 12:59 pm
In Memoriam

Programs: ua prem exec, Former hilton diamond
I switched to the Microsoft Product, it's free, and the machines have taken a much lower performance hit with it.

http://www.microsoft.com/Security_Essentials/

Being free was nice, but it was not the reason I switched, it was the machines are faster with it over some of the other stuff I tried.
Old Feb 21, 2010, 2:26 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Originally Posted by cordelli