Wiki Posts
Search

How many days in BKK?

Search this Thread

Old Nov 13, 2009, 12:19 am
Original Poster

Programs: AA (Plt Pro; 1.5 MM)
How many days in BKK?

First time in Thailand or BKK and, sadly, I can only manage a few days (3-5).

How many days does one need to experience Bangkok without rushing around too much?

(I am not thinking of venturing out of the capital, but if there's a manageable 1-day trip one simply must include, please let me know.)
Old Nov 14, 2009, 2:49 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: TK Elite
If this was my first time in Thailand and only 3-5 days available, I would stay in BKK. There are so many things to see and expirience. Stay at a fancy 5* hotel like Conrad or a hotel near the river - rates are low - and just enjoy the Thai hospitality. Shopping is great near Siam Sq.

Have fun and enjoy.
Old Nov 14, 2009, 4:35 pm
Original Poster

Originally Posted by SK AAR
...or a hotel near the river - rates are low...
Thanks. I am a true BKK novice, so please be patient. Should I be looking for a particular area by the river, or did you mean simply anywhere along the river? Any particular hotel names (besides Conrad) that might stand out as "best value" in terms of location, amenities and price?
Old Nov 14, 2009, 5:31 pm

Programs: AC E75, SPG Plat, HH peon-by-choice (ex Gold)
Agree to spend your entire time at BKK.

IIRC, the Le Meridien was running a special. For maximum efficiency, try looking for a hotel close to a Skytrain or Metro station. The Westin Grande Sukhumvit and Sheraton GS have great locations.
Old Nov 15, 2009, 2:01 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: TK Elite