Watch out for hackers!!!

Old Apr 27, 05, 11:03 am
Original Poster

Watch out for hackers!!!

Moderators,

This probably does not belong in this forum. But I posted here to let everyone know what is happening. Could be co-incidental to our network or could be a real problem for everyone on FT. I am not technically sophisticated enough to figure it out.

Our company network (24 computers and 39 Quaalcom units) is protected with ZoneAlarm Pro. Since about 7:00AM Arizona time this morning, our network is constantly getting bombarded with pings, but only when I am connected to Flyertalk. Have shut down the network twice, trying to prevent this, but the minute I connect to Flyertalk, someone starts trying to get into our computers.

With all the publicity this morning on NBC and MSNBC (they ran the story at least twice), I can just visualize some kid in his dorm room going to our beloved site and wreaking havoc with our computers.
Old Apr 27, 05, 11:06 am

You're right, this doesn't belong in this forum. I would suggest posting it in "technical issues", they could probably tell you better what is going on.

I really doubt that just from visiting FT you are having someone try to hack into your computer by means of "pings". Pings are completely harmless.
Old Apr 27, 05, 11:08 am

pings are not necessarily harmless. Ever heard of the ping of death attack? That's why ZoneAlarm blocks by default any unsolicited pings.
Old Apr 27, 05, 11:11 am

Exclamation thanks for the info...

do you think i should just shut down flyertalk for the day? i'm just a customer new to the site...

thanks... for your opintion...

Originally Posted by greatam
Moderators,

This probably does not belong in this forum. But I posted here to let everyone know what is happening. Could be co-incidental to our network or could be a real problem for everyone on FT. I am not technically sophisticated enough to figure it out.