Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Support&Services > Technical Support and Feedback
Reload this Page >

Securing Connection/Confirm Resubmission when clicking back

Securing Connection/Confirm Resubmission when clicking back

Old Jan 18, 23, 11:30 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: FRA
Programs: LH SEN
Posts: 809
GET being turned into a POST and breaking the back button

I mostly browse from https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/usercp.php click into threads or forums and then hit the back button to return to usercp.php

Something has changed in the last week or so that seems to be turning HTTP GET requests into POST requests and when I click back I get:
Document Expired
...and when I click on refresh:
To display this page, Firefox must send information that will repeat any action (such as a search or order confirmation) that was performed earlier.
...indicating that the previous request for usercp.php was a POST request and not a GET request.

Any idea what might have changed?
supine is offline  
Old Jan 18, 23, 11:43 am
  #2  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Programs: Internet Brands
Posts: 3,523
You're asking the wrong guy, but I'm guessing it's tied to the 500 errors that have become pretty rampant. I have reported that issue to tech
IBJoel is offline  
Old Jan 18, 23, 3:35 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Antonio
Programs: DL DM, Former AA EXP now AY Plat, AC 75K, NW Plat, Former CO Gold, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Titanium
Posts: 24,762
Securing Connection/Confirm Resubmission when clicking back

Started last night (South Africa time).

When connecting to FT I now get a "Securing Connection" message.

Also at same time, I can no longer simply click the back button. If I do it is asking me to Confirm resubmiting information. (As if I had made selections on previous page. However this is simply clicking back after reading a thread)
SPN Lifer likes this.
flyerCO is offline  
Old Jan 19, 23, 3:38 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: FRA
Programs: LH SEN
Posts: 809
It seems to be Cloudflare that is causing this.




You can see the redirect to cloudflare.hcaptcha.com and when you come back to usercp.php it's a POST instead of a GET.

It wouldn't be so annoying if it was rare but this happens anytime I've not interacted with the site for more than 5-10 minutes.
SPN Lifer likes this.
supine is offline  
Old Jan 19, 23, 11:28 am
  #5  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Programs: Internet Brands
Posts: 3,523
Are you still receiving an error?
IBJoel is offline  
Old Jan 19, 23, 11:39 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: FRA
Programs: LH SEN
Posts: 809
I reproduced it just now after reading your post.
  • Clicked "back"
  • "Document expired"
  • Clicked "reload"
  • "To display this page, Firefox must send information ...."
I'm also seeing a lot of "Cloudflare checking your browser" and "Tick the I'm not a robot box". Not just occasionally but roughly every 15 minutes or so. Not sure why they don't set a cookie and save themselves some resources and me some annoyance.
supine is offline  
Old Jan 19, 23, 11:58 am
  #7  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Programs: Internet Brands
Posts: 3,523
Originally Posted by supine View Post
I reproduced it just now after reading your post.
  • Clicked "back"
  • "Document expired"
  • Clicked "reload"
  • "To display this page, Firefox must send information ...."
I'm also seeing a lot of "Cloudflare checking your browser" and "Tick the I'm not a robot box". Not just occasionally but roughly every 15 minutes or so. Not sure why they don't set a cookie and save themselves some resources and me some annoyance.
OK I just saw you're in France? On Tuesday we began having some issues with the site crashing. Users outside the US right now require a Cloudflare check that should be once per session. I'm not a tech person, so I will consult with our team on why you may be receiving the check multiple times and if it might be responsible for your Back button issue
IBJoel is offline  
Old Jan 19, 23, 2:49 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: FRA
Programs: LH SEN
Posts: 809
OK I just saw you're in France?
FRA = Frankfurt/Main, Germany

​​​​​​​I am a tech person so feel free to connect me directly with folks who want any more troubleshooting/testing.
supine is offline  
Old Jan 20, 23, 7:43 am
  #9  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Living the dream in Antigua and the nightmare in Florida
Programs: AA PLAT 2MM, *A Gold, WN detractor
Posts: 45,782
Same for me. I get random "Securing Connection" page, although so far it has always reconnected.
SJCFlyerLG is offline  
Old Jan 20, 23, 1:13 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: SYD (perenially), GVA (not in a long time)
Programs: QF PS, EK-Gold, Security Theatre Critic
Posts: 5,898
Originally Posted by IBJoel View Post
OK I just saw you're in France? On Tuesday we began having some issues with the site crashing. Users outside the US right now require a Cloudflare check that should be once per session. I'm not a tech person, so I will consult with our team on why you may be receiving the check multiple times and if it might be responsible for your Back button issue
I've been having the same problem from Australia since about Tuesday. Usually it's just an extra click and a short delay. But about one time in three or four it says a token has been rejected (or something) and I have to close the window and start again. Both on laptop (Dell Windows 10 Firefox) and Android.

Getting really annoying.
nancypants likes this.
RadioGirl is online now  
Old Jan 21, 23, 4:06 am
  #11  
Moderator, CoronaVirus and Hilton Honors
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: on a short leash
Programs: some
Posts: 71,345
Originally Posted by RadioGirl View Post
I've been having the same problem from Australia since about Tuesday. Usually it's just an extra click and a short delay. But about one time in three or four it says a token has been rejected (or something) and I have to close the window and start again. Both on laptop (Dell Windows 10 Firefox) and Android.

Getting really annoying.
Same for me from NZ, Australia and UK since approx Monday (nz time). Makes very slow to use FT.
AlwaysFlyStar and nancypants like this.
Kiwi Flyer is offline  
Old Jan 21, 23, 10:08 am
  #12  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Watchlisted by the prejudiced, en route to purgatory
Programs: Just Say No to Fleecing and Blacklisting
Posts: 99,943
Getting a lot of this "securing connection" kind of stuff in different countries with multiple different ISPs/IPs. It seems almost like a flash from the past to have to deal with this -- but I'm getting those "you are not a robot" kind of thing. While this stuff is going on, it may be good practice to save the reply text before the "securing connection" stuff results in having to re-write a post that goes into the nether-lands due to this secure connection check thing.

While I don't like this "securing connection" stuff, it is better than a c. 90-day IP address block that was hitting me despite FT being literally the only site of note that seemed to have an issue with that non-commercial IP address in another country.
GUWonder is offline  
Old Jan 22, 23, 8:53 am
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Posts: 39,505
No idea if it's the same problem but for the last week or two every time I enter Flyertalk I get a ''checking to see if the site connection is secure'' warning. Not been refused entry so far but it's getting a wee bit annoying. This is when using a laptop from home.

Last edited by HIDDY; Jan 22, 23 at 9:53 am
HIDDY is offline  
Old Jan 22, 23, 3:01 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Amsterdam
Programs: A3, BA, OZ,
Posts: 932
vBulletin Message
Your submission could not be processed because a security token was missing.

If this occurred unexpectedly, please inform the administrator and describe the action you performed before you received this error.
Occasionally getting this error message when trying to post.
Is this new security treatment a permanent treat for non-US based users? It is a bit of a hassle.
I already turn my VPN off when I want to pop on here.
Perhaps this is just an excuse to be able to sell Flyertalk Priority Access where you reduce our experience so that you can sell us what we used to get for free and pretend you are doing us a favour?
AlwaysFlyStar is offline  
Old Jan 22, 23, 10:38 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: SYD (perenially), GVA (not in a long time)
Programs: QF PS, EK-Gold, Security Theatre Critic
Posts: 5,898
Originally Posted by AlwaysFlyStar View Post
Occasionally getting this error message when trying to post.
Is this new security treatment a permanent treat for non-US based users? It is a bit of a hassle.
I already turn my VPN off when I want to pop on here.
Perhaps this is just an excuse to be able to sell Flyertalk Priority Access where you reduce our experience so that you can sell us what we used to get for free and pretend you are doing us a favour?
Yeah, that's the one I'm getting (three or four times a day). Upthread IBJoel said it was for users outside the US and should be "once per session" but I get the check every time I refresh a page or switch to a different forum. And I get the error message about a missing token once per session (because then I have to stop and restart a new session.)

Maybe because it only affects non-US people it's not getting much attention? But yes, a major hassle.
RadioGirl is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread