Is it my PC set-up?

Reply

Old Jan 24, 11, 7:21 pm
  #16  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 13,144
Originally Posted by Vaclav View Post
Internet Explorer.
The only other sites giving me trouble beside flyertalk.com are some with .cz
Thanks
Both IE and Firefox have worked out fine with me. But just like most other websites, Firefox works out better and FT is no exception. Hence I use Firefox every time I can.
Rejuvenated is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 11, 8:11 pm
  #17  
formerly BackSlash3
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: YYZ Realistically, YKZ Aspirationally
Programs: AE Diamond, Marriott Gold, IHG Plat AMB
Posts: 430
It sounds like a DNS issue to me.

Vaclav,

It sounds to me like it's more of an issue with your internet service provider than your computer, especially if you get the same result in IE and Firefox.

Quite often ISPs don't put enough resources into the server providing name to IP address resolution for their customers.

If you're comfortable changing network settings, then I suggest you either use Gibson Research's DNS benchmark (http://www.grc.com/dns/benchmark.htm) to find one that will work better and respond quickly, or change it to 8.8.8.8 which is Google's public DNS (Google provides instructions at http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/docs/using.html).

It's changable on your PC, or on your network router but the Google instructions should get your through it in either case.

Good Luck

--B3
RoutingWonk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 11, 7:48 am
  #18  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Programs: Aeroplan
Posts: 950
I've had the same intermittent issue with FT as well recently. All other sites are fine. Usually I just hit refresh a few seconds later and it comes through.

I also use ....... software in whatever browser I'm using which significantly speeds up the browsing experience. Used to be a FF user but I switched to the speedier Chrome once the plugins caught up.
RoninTech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 11, 8:00 am
  #19  
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC SE100K, HH G
Posts: 2,454
Originally Posted by RoninTech View Post
I also use ....... software in whatever browser I'm using which significantly speeds up the browsing experience. Used to be a FF user but I switched to the speedier Chrome once the plugins caught up.
I've switched to Chrome twice, and switched back twice (last time with the dev version since the standard release is waaaaay behind in functionality). It's somewhat faster, but some sites' scripting does not work with Chrome's Javascript implementation, the flash blocking is much less functional than on Firefox, the built-in PDF plug-in is useless (view only), there are fewer search plug-ins -- and, shockingly for Google, the URL bar history search is WAY slower than that on Firefox.

I'm now back to 90% Firefox and 10% IE8.
tomh009 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 11, 8:04 am
  #20  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: YUL
Programs: AC*E50, DL*SM, JMB
Posts: 457
I never had any issues with loading FT. Everything works fine on my PC and iPhone as well. I also never used Chrome and I still use Firefox (95%) and IE8 (5%).
world888traveler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 11, 8:10 am
  #21  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: YYZ
Programs: A3*G AC*nobody TK*S
Posts: 1,900
Originally Posted by drdrma View Post
Download Chrome and report back the experience.
Oh I love Chrome... And it works fine w/ FT
Away from YYZ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 11, 8:37 am
  #22  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Programs: Aeroplan
Posts: 950
Originally Posted by tomh009 View Post
I've switched to Chrome twice, and switched back twice (last time with the dev version since the standard release is waaaaay behind in functionality). It's somewhat faster, but some sites' scripting does not work with Chrome's Javascript implementation, the flash blocking is much less functional than on Firefox, the built-in PDF plug-in is useless (view only), there are fewer search plug-ins -- and, shockingly for Google, the URL bar history search is WAY slower than that on Firefox.

I'm now back to 90% Firefox and 10% IE8.
I went through this try and then go back once as well. Last time I switched to Chrome (2 months ago) I stayed. I always use the latest beta.
RoninTech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 11, 10:57 am
  #23  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: YUL
Programs: Various airline, hotel and credit card programs
Posts: 1,731
Back again, after being "disabled" for a while.

I think that a culprit may be also the CCcleaner that I run frequently.

Will try your suggestions.

Thanks.
Vaclav is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 11, 1:57 pm
  #24  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: YUL
Programs: AC*E
Posts: 776
Originally Posted by tomh009 View Post
FT ad load times are definitely long -- I block Flash, but most of the page reload time is still taken up contacting and waiting for non-FT sites.
Almost all Ad activity uses javascript and is easily and effectively blocked by installed noscript. (the firefox plugin) It makes loading web pages so much faster.
drdrma is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 11, 2:02 pm
  #25  
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC SE100K, HH G
Posts: 2,454
Originally Posted by drdrma View Post
Almost all Ad activity uses javascript and is easily and effectively blocked by installed noscript. (the firefox plugin) It makes loading web pages so much faster.
I'll have to give that a shot -- thanks!
tomh009 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 11, 5:19 am
  #26  
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC SE100K, HH G
Posts: 2,454
Originally Posted by drdrma View Post
Almost all Ad activity uses javascript and is easily and effectively blocked by installed noscript. (the firefox plugin) It makes loading web pages so much faster.
After 24 hours of using noscript, I have to say I'm very pleased. It takes a bit of tuning work (have to turn on scripts for some sites, like aeroplan.com) but performance is significantly improved. For some newspaper sites I read, I think the improvement is close to 5x -- pages actually "snap" onto the browser, making web browsing far more pleasant.

Thanks, drdrma!
tomh009 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 11, 11:38 am
  #27  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: YUL
Programs: Various airline, hotel and credit card programs
Posts: 1,731
Issue resolved - for now at least.
My friend (IT specialist) believed that the culprit was Primus Canada and they were. It was related to DNS changes in the back. Just called them it flyertalk.com works again. Thanks to all.
Vaclav is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread