Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Chase to Turkish?

Search this Thread

Old Dec 27, 2017, 10:54 am
Original Poster

Chase to Turkish?

I've been using credit card points for travel for several years now, but I've always just booked through the given card's portal or directly with the airline, depending on what card I am using. I've never really learned the whole transferring-points-to-different-airlines side of thing.

Right now, I am trying to plan an East Africa trip, but am running into difficulties with flights. I am wanting to use my Chase Ultimate Rewards points. The flights I'm wanting are MCI to ZNZ, then KGL back to MCI. Going through the Chase Portal, this would cost over $2,700 per person (!!!). If I search the flights on Google Flights, I can find them for half that using a combination of United and Turkish Airlines, but it says to book by calling Turkish Airlines. In this scenario, can I use my Chase points? If so, how? I would think if I transferred them to United, which is one of their transfer partners, then I'd have to book on United (where the price is astronomical).

If I flew out of and into JFK instead, that whole portion would be Turkish Airlines at which point I could book on Turkish Airlines' website (and then book the MCI-JFK roundtrip separately). Would that make a difference?

I apologize if I'm not making much sense. As I said, I'm new to this part of the points game.
Old Dec 27, 2017, 8:01 pm
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Welcome to FlyerTalk!

If you transfer the points to United then you'd want to book an award trip, not a revenue ticket. You would need to check the UA site to see if the seats are available on your dates. If seats are available it would be 80k r/t in coach or 140k r/t in business.

You can also try calling Chase and feeding them the specific flights to see if they get the lower prices. No guarantees there but it could work.