Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Global Airline Alliances > Star Alliance
Reload this Page >

Using * Alliance Award to fly BNA > ADD RT for adoption

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 6, 2011, 3:08 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AA, Hilton, PC

A good friend from college and his wife are adopting a child from Addis Ababa, Ethopia next summer. To help save on adoption expenses, I'm trying to help him gain 2 RT award tix from Nashville to Addis Ababa, Ethopia in July/Aug 12 timeframe. I'm a rookie to the FF game, and most of my knowledge is OneWorld. After some research, gleff suggests that * Alliance has reasonably good award availability to Africa. http://boardingarea.com/blogs/viewfr...to-redeem-for/

My friends have excellent credit, but no mileage balances. Should they pursue Continental, US Air, United, etc? i.e. What is the best strategy to gain 2 RT award flights to Addis Ababa from the US? Coach would be fine. Thanks in advance for your suggestions.
Old Oct 6, 2011, 5:28 pm
Moderator: Asiana & Qantas Frequent Flyer
Aman Contributor Badge

Programs: QF Lifetime SG, LH HON, OZ Lifetime Diamond +, HH Diamond, Marriott Lifetime Platinum
Originally Posted by baxterboy12
A good friend from college and his wife are adopting a child from Addis Ababa, Ethopia next summer. To help save on adoption expenses, I'm trying to help him gain 2 RT award tix from Nashville to Addis Ababa, Ethopia in July/Aug 12 timeframe. I'm a rookie to the FF game, and most of my knowledge is OneWorld. After some research, gleff suggests that * Alliance has reasonably good award availability to Africa. http://boardingarea.com/blogs/viewfr...to-redeem-for/

My friends have excellent credit, but no mileage balances. Should they pursue Continental, US Air, United, etc? i.e. What is the best strategy to gain 2 RT award flights to Addis Ababa from the US? Coach would be fine. Thanks in advance for your suggestions.