Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Southwest Airlines | Rapid Rewards
Reload this Page >

Business Select "Sold Out" - But no one lines up 1-15

Business Select "Sold Out" - But no one lines up 1-15

Old Apr 27, 11, 8:45 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: PHX
Programs: SWA A+ & CP, Delta GM, Hyatt Diamond, *wood Plat, HH Diamond
Posts: 68
Business Select "Sold Out" - But no one lines up 1-15

This past Sunday (Easter) I flew from PHX to BWI (6am). I am flying full fare because the trip was last minute. I arrived at the gate and asked the GA if I could upgrade to BS. She told me that they were "sold out". Okay, that happens - I was A16 so I would still get a good seat for the long flight. They called for everyone to line up. Go figure...Noone lined up in BS 1-15. .... That cost me 2500 points. They must block last minute BS seats on flights like that...I realize that $25 for 2500 points is a pretty good deal...that is why I wanted to do it.

Anyone else experienced this?

BTW...when I landed in BWI I upgraded my return leg in advance.
11976 vs 9480 points.
ckohlun is offline  
Old Apr 27, 11, 8:46 am
  #2  
nsx
Moderator: Southwest Airlines
Hyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: California
Programs: WN Companion Pass, A-list preferred, Hyatt Globalist Lite; United Club ex-Lifetime Member
Posts: 20,134
Too many through passengers. They don't sell any BS on those flights.
nsx is offline  
Old Apr 27, 11, 9:28 am
  #3  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 83
How much is it generally to upgrade to bs at the airport?
jfsva is offline  
Old Apr 27, 11, 9:53 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,832
Originally Posted by jfsva View Post
How much is it generally to upgrade to bs at the airport?
Really? It's simply the difference in fare from what you paid vs. what the BS fare is, assuming the BS fare is available for that flight. You pay at the airport what is listed on the website.
texashoser is offline  
Old Apr 27, 11, 10:20 am
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Programs: HH Gold, AA Gold
Posts: 10,168
Originally Posted by nsx View Post
Too many through passengers. They don't sell any BS on those flights.
Huh??? The OP said 6am Sunday morning. Unless WN has started flying redeyes, I don't think there were many (or any) through pax.
formeraa is offline  
Old Apr 27, 11, 10:23 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: USA
Programs: Frontier 100K, AC SE100K, BA Gold, WN A-/CP, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 4,270
I've seen a number of people upgrade to business select using the kiosks. They start grinning from ear to ear when their C17 magically turns into A2 or A3. I'm happy too, since they're helping to subsidize my cheaper WGA fare

For the OP's question, was the flight nonstop bwi-phx or did it have a layover? If there were no thru passengers I'd have assumed 15 BS would be available for sale. If it stopped in another city, maybe their sales software logic is flawed and they allowed 15 MDW-PHX BS sales to affect BWI-PHX availability.
expert7700 is online now  
Old Apr 27, 11, 10:49 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: PHX
Programs: SWA A+ & CP, Delta GM, Hyatt Diamond, *wood Plat, HH Diamond
Posts: 68
To clarify my original post. My flight originated at PHX (the plane was there overnight). After Pre Boards (3) i was the first General Boarding customer. It was also non-stop from PHX to BWI.

There are a couple of ways to upgrade to BS. At the kiosk, the main ticket counter, the gate agent (or the person near the gate at the desk), calling swa, and when you buy the ticket.

From Full Fare (anytime) - it generally costs me $20 or $25 per leg. I always fly Anytime Fares - so I upgrade almost every flight.
ckohlun is offline  
Old Apr 27, 11, 6:09 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Houston (HOU/IAH)
Programs: WN, UA, DL, AA, Chase UR, Amex MR
Posts: 2,229
Perhaps the whole flight was sold out and the software was unable to sell a "new" BS ticket even though you were just technically refaring your existing ticket?
alggag is offline  
Old May 1, 11, 11:00 am
  #9  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,098
Originally Posted by nsx View Post
Too many through passengers. They don't sell any BS on those flights.
Through pax on an eastbound 6am?
pinworm is offline  
Old May 1, 11, 11:45 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: BHM
Programs: WN A-List, HHonors Diamond
Posts: 213
Originally Posted by ckohlun View Post
From Full Fare (anytime) - it generally costs me $20 or $25 per leg. I always fly Anytime Fares - so I upgrade almost every flight.
Potential stupid question, but I gotta know: why not just buy BS at the original purchase?
ACEDAD is offline  
Old May 1, 11, 12:53 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DAL
Posts: 267
Originally Posted by alggag View Post
Perhaps the whole flight was sold out and the software was unable to sell a "new" BS ticket even though you were just technically refaring your existing ticket?
I'm not familiar with the airport software, but that'd be the case booking online or over the phone. It's not an upgrade, per se, it's selecting a new seat and if the flight is sold out, the only way to potentially release that seat would be to completely cancel the reservation and then if, and only if, the seat is put back in inventory, the BS seat MAY be available.
KelseyR is offline  
Old May 2, 11, 9:02 am
  #12  
In Memoriam - Company Representative - Southwest Airlines
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Programs: Southwest spokesperson
Posts: 1,201
Originally Posted by KelseyR View Post
I'm not familiar with the airport software, but that'd be the case booking online or over the phone. It's not an upgrade, per se, it's selecting a new seat and if the flight is sold out, the only way to potentially release that seat would be to completely cancel the reservation and then if, and only if, the seat is put back in inventory, the BS seat MAY be available.
This is what happened. The flight was completely full, and because Business Select needs at least one open seat to sell, they were unable to upgrade the OP. (Business Select is sold as a separate fare class and not an upgrade, so you can't just pay an "upgrade fee," you have to book and sell in Business Select. I know this is one thing about the fare that we would like to change, but given the current limits of the res system, it will have to wait.
SWABrian is offline  
Old May 7, 11, 1:16 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Orleans (for now)
Programs: DL PM, WN, SC, various other programs of lowly status
Posts: 1,642
Originally Posted by ACEDAD View Post
Potential stupid question, but I gotta know: why not just buy BS at the original purchase?
I was wondering the same thing.
Marylou is offline  
Old May 8, 11, 12:45 pm
  #14  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: PHX
Programs: SWA A+ & CP, Delta GM, Hyatt Diamond, *wood Plat, HH Diamond
Posts: 68
Originally Posted by ACEDAD View Post
Potential stupid question, but I gotta know: why not just buy BS at the original purchase?
I travel on business. My corporate travel site does not allow/offer Business Select...I can do either "refundable" or "lowest fare". Becuase I change travel times frequently I book refundable then upgrade when I get to the airport. Simply a limitation of the travel tool that I have to use.
ckohlun is offline  
Old May 8, 11, 5:40 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: BHM
Programs: WN A-List, HHonors Diamond
Posts: 213
Originally Posted by ckohlun View Post
I travel on business. My corporate travel site does not allow/offer Business Select...I can do either "refundable" or "lowest fare". Becuase I change travel times frequently I book refundable then upgrade when I get to the airport. Simply a limitation of the travel tool that I have to use.
Ok. That's most of my travel as well, so I understand. So you're just upgrading out of your own pocket at the airport, then.
ACEDAD is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: