Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > America - USA > South
Reload this Page >

Wifi at TPA Airport - ok on Android phone, not working Windows PC

Wifi at TPA Airport - ok on Android phone, not working Windows PC

Old Feb 25, 17, 1:06 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 408
Wifi at TPA Airport - ok on Android phone, not working Windows PC

At TPA airport this is the second time having issues with the wifi. On my android phone, I connect to the wifi and it brings up the splash page automatically. Clicking on Accept then opens the Internet.

On my windows PC, the splash page doesn't pop up after connecting. I looked up ipconfig to find the gateway IP 172.17.0.1 and put that in the browser. The first time you try this it does redirect to the splash page. However, clicking Accept on that page still doesn't open up the Internet.

Has anyone figured out the trick with windows PCs at TPA? This has happened to me last year and now, and on 2 different laptops.
alchemista is offline  
Old Feb 25, 17, 4:10 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Colorado Springs
Programs: No single airline or hotel chain is of much use to me anymore.
Posts: 2,106
Are you using manual DNS settings? Those can interfere with captive portals.
Error 601 is offline  
Old Feb 25, 17, 4:25 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 408
Originally Posted by Error 601 View Post
Are you using manual DNS settings? Those can interfere with captive portals.
Good question. I am using the Google DNS servers. I will have to set those back to automatic next time and see if that's the trick.
alchemista is offline  
Old Feb 26, 17, 7:20 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 502
Originally Posted by alchemista View Post
Good question. I am using the Google DNS servers. I will have to set those back to automatic next time and see if that's the trick.
You may also want to flush your DNS cache while you're at it. Happens to me a few times a week when I mix working from home and anywhere where I have a sign-in or check-in portal.
StuckInYYZ is offline  
Old Feb 26, 17, 3:24 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: PWM - the way life should be
Posts: 11,696
Please continue to follow this in the Florida/Tampa forums.
gfunkdave is offline  
Old Mar 1, 17, 10:51 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Somewhere in Florida
Posts: 1,851
Originally Posted by alchemista View Post
Good question. I am using the Google DNS servers. I will have to set those back to automatic next time and see if that's the trick.
This is likely the problem... The captive portal has to re-direct you to itself first and it often does this via DNS. If you're not using the default DNS servers provided, you're not going to get the redirect.
KRSW is offline  
Old Mar 4, 17, 7:53 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 192
As a data point: I fly out of Tampa 3-4 times a month. I use the airport wi-fi for my phone and work laptop, and it routinely works smoothly, receiving the airport disclaimer and survey web pages when I connect. DNS settings are on auto.

-db
dburns is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread