Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > South African Airways | Voyager
Reload this Page >

Basics of using Voyager miles on Star Alliance

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 8, 2016, 4:13 am
Original Poster

Programs: SAA Voyager

Hi Everyone,

I am a bit new to this, have used my miles to fly SAA to Europe and back but I am having trouble getting to Vancouver.

So here is my questions.

1. I am trying to get to Vancouver and back 3 March 2017 and 20 March Respectively. But SAA has no flights available and neither does their partners, or so I am told, I have phoned about 5 times over the past 2 months.

2. Is it that the partner airlines only release their seats closer to the actual date and thus more seats will become available closer to the time?

3. Can I only search for flights like these through the SAA Voyager call center or is there another way?

It feels that unless I fly SAA there are almost no flights available through partners.

Thank you in Advance.
Old Sep 11, 2016, 1:57 am

Hello Decsus and welcome to FT!

The easiest way to search for *A redemptions is to use UA's website (right on the homepage, select "search for award travel"), or sign up with Aeroplan and use their engine.

I can see plenty of availability for two people in economy on the dates you mention, as well as some availability in business (but not much). Flexibility with dates and routings is required when using miles.

What is very important, when you call Voyager to book, don't ask them "I would like to fly from JNB to YVR on these dates". Say "I want to book flights SAXXX, LHXXX, ACXXX on these dates", i.e. spoonfeed what you found on UA and AC's websites to the agent. If flights show up on both these search engines, there is a 99% certainty Voyager will be able to see (and book) them as well.

Good luck!
Old Oct 3, 2016, 5:38 am
Original Poster

Programs: SAA Voyager
Thank you so much for this info.