Seat Assignment on SAA

Old Aug 20, 15, 4:08 am
  #1  
Suspended
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Atherton, CA
Programs: UA 1K, AA EXP; Owner, Green Bay Packers
Posts: 21,693
Cool Seat Assignment on SAA

Hi everyone,

How does one go about choosing a seat on an SAA flight? I've got my PNR but can't find anywhere to choose a seat. I'm tall, and want to try to get an aisle.

Thanks!

Doc
Doc Savage is offline  
Old Aug 20, 15, 6:04 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: RSA
Programs: SAA Voyager Lifetime Plat
Posts: 141
www.flysaa.com - manage my booking - log in with booking reference number and surname - before my flight - select seats
Shumba is offline  
Old Aug 20, 15, 8:21 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: LGA/EWR/JFK
Programs: AA EXP, Amex Plat, A3 Gold
Posts: 311
Also discussed at length here:

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/other...lysaa-com.html
DLinYUL is offline  
Old Aug 20, 15, 2:09 pm
  #4  
Suspended
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Atherton, CA
Programs: UA 1K, AA EXP; Owner, Green Bay Packers
Posts: 21,693
Thanks, guys. I've tried SAA.com and EgyptAir to no avail. SAA doesn't recognize the PNR, EgyptAir did but I couldn't choose a seat.
Doc Savage is offline  
Old Aug 21, 15, 2:13 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CPT
Programs: BA BD SA
Posts: 4,447
AFAIK you can only change seats on the flysaa.com web site if your ticket was booked on that web site.

I'm not sure what the workaround is using other airlines' web sites now that EgyptAir no longer obliges. A call to SAA maybe?
Cheetah_SA is offline  
Old Aug 22, 15, 10:47 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: LGA/EWR/JFK
Programs: AA EXP, Amex Plat, A3 Gold
Posts: 311
Originally Posted by Doc Savage View Post
Thanks, guys. I've tried SAA.com and EgyptAir to no avail. SAA doesn't recognize the PNR, EgyptAir did but I couldn't choose a seat.
If your booking does not entitle you to advance seat selection, then even going through the MS website won't help. If you are in J or full-fare Y (I believe) then you will be able to select seats, but not if you're booked in discount Y.
DLinYUL is offline  
Old Aug 25, 15, 11:42 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,730
Originally Posted by DLinYUL View Post
If your booking does not entitle you to advance seat selection, then even going through the MS website won't help. If you are in J or full-fare Y (I believe) then you will be able to select seats, but not if you're booked in discount Y.
Nope.

Discount Y can still select seats through the call center.
CBear is offline  
Old Aug 26, 15, 9:44 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 437
Same issue for me a few months back
I emailed them and all the seats (4 x J award bookings) were sorted in 24 hours.

[email protected]
Guvner067 is offline  
Old Aug 30, 15, 10:37 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 342
Originally Posted by Doc Savage View Post
Thanks, guys. I've tried SAA.com and EgyptAir to no avail. SAA doesn't recognize the PNR, EgyptAir did but I couldn't choose a seat.
So ask EgyptAir (or whomever issued the ticket) if they have a confirmation code on SAA, a conf code/pnr is not just a conf code/pnr much like a ticket number is.

SAA is useless at these kinds of things so keep expectations low, y'hear?
phbl is offline  
Old Nov 23, 15, 5:15 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 342
Originally Posted by CBear View Post
Nope.

Discount Y can still select seats through the call center.
Call center told me a few weeks ago that selecting seats on intl itinerary (booked with united) will result in $$$. knowing south africa this is probably the rule.
phbl is offline  
Old Nov 24, 15, 6:41 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: YVR
Programs: AE, MP, DL, AA, Accor Platinum (But aren't we all?)
Posts: 268
Originally Posted by phbl View Post
Call center told me a few weeks ago that selecting seats on intl itinerary (booked with united) will result in $$$. knowing south africa this is probably the rule.
Same here. Even called their HKG centre as they are normally pretty good and she said it would cost me HKD200 (US$26) to reserve a seat. For the crappy economy on those old A340's there is no way.
SOLTATIO is offline  
Old Nov 28, 15, 1:43 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 437
Like I said above, email them. I was booked through another carrier. No cost to assign seats.
Guvner067 is offline  
Old Nov 29, 15, 7:26 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Pacific NW
Programs: AS MVP, Hyatt Diamond
Posts: 126
Yes, the email worked for me, got a response in a few days with the seats I wanted per seat guru. Used United miles for the award in business, LIM to CPT via Brazil and JNB.
JoJo12 is offline  
Old Dec 6, 15, 3:53 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 342
Originally Posted by Guvner067 View Post
Like I said above, email them. I was booked through another carrier. No cost to assign seats.
Originally Posted by JoJo12 View Post
Yes, the email worked for me, got a response in a few days with the seats I wanted per seat guru. Used United miles for the award in business, LIM to CPT via Brazil and JNB.

but yall are in j. that must be free, or do i not know south africa well enough?

i emailed them anyways (for my discount y booked via 016), we'll see.
phbl is offline  
Old Dec 6, 15, 11:26 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 342
i sent an email asking for exit row and if that's not available then aisle as close to the front

got this reply

Dear phbl,

Emergency exit seats are saleable for one to be accommodated on them. You can bid for the seats at the airport.

Warm regards,


Customer Services
phbl is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: