Using round trips as multi stop

Old Jan 18, 23, 5:07 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 22
Using round trips as multi stop

Hi all - apologies if this isnít the right topic category to post this, struggled to find one that suited.
I am flying with an infant for the first time via Singapore airlines from LHR to SYD via Singapore where Iíll stop for a few days, plus stopping on way back too. Normally I booked this as a multi city 4 leg trip, but Singapore airlines website doesnít allow me to check seating online for a multi city, and getting a bassinet seat is vital for me. Find their customer service agents tricky to deal with but a work around is for me to book 2 return flights which their system allows me to choose seats for. so Iíd have one return flight London to Singapore and one for Singapore to London which Iíd be using in between. Iím curious if anyone knows if this would ever cause an issue with immigration (I have British and Australian passports). Iím hoping not as Iíd have proof of all my onward travel, but want to make sure.

thanks!
dilby is offline  
Old Jan 18, 23, 6:01 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,942
No issue. Many ppl do that. As long as you can enter Singapore since you mention that you have stopover.
email2markt likes this.
sbs2716g is offline  
Old Jan 18, 23, 7:51 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Brisbane
Programs: BAEC Blue/Bronze, Krisflyer, Qantas
Posts: 367
Originally Posted by dilby View Post
Hi all - apologies if this isnít the right topic category to post this, struggled to find one that suited.
I am flying with an infant for the first time via Singapore airlines from LHR to SYD via Singapore where Iíll stop for a few days, plus stopping on way back too. Normally I booked this as a multi city 4 leg trip, but Singapore airlines website doesnít allow me to check seating online for a multi city, and getting a bassinet seat is vital for me. Find their customer service agents tricky to deal with but a work around is for me to book 2 return flights which their system allows me to choose seats for. so Iíd have one return flight London to Singapore and one for Singapore to London which Iíd be using in between. Iím curious if anyone knows if this would ever cause an issue with immigration (I have British and Australian passports). Iím hoping not as Iíd have proof of all my onward travel, but want to make sure.

thanks!
Have you been able to book bassinet seats online before? Most airlines block them and only allow you to move to one after calling up and saying "i have a baby".

If you wanted to check the availability before booking then yes, you could search for each of the segments as one-ways and check the seat map. Then call up and book.

No issues having your itinerary as two returns if you prefer to do it that way, the worse than happens is someone at checkin in Australia (for your return trip) asks you if you have a ticket booked to depart Singapore and you can show them your booking.
email2markt is offline  
Old Jan 20, 23, 5:05 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia and Stockholm, Sweden
Programs: TK Gold, ITA Gold, VA Gold
Posts: 822
No issue at all. I've used "nested" return flights several times without a problem. Just ensure you leave plenty of time in Singapore (it sounds like you will be doing that anyway).
sydunipete is online now  
Old Jan 20, 23, 5:48 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Anywhere
Posts: 5,944
Curiously, wonít nesting two round trips like this increase the cost significantly?
carrotjuice is online now  
Old Jan 24, 23, 11:45 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: BOS/PVD, LIM, PTY
Programs: US CP, DL PM, UA Silver, HU/TJ Air Gold, Hilton Diamond, IHG Plat (Yay!)
Posts: 2,697
You can always get a sense of which seats are available by using Expert Flyer. In my experience the SQ site will sometimes not show true bassinet availability but EF does.

When you choose an infant at booking the bassinet seats will become unlocked and you wonít need to call in.

We have done SIN-LHR several times this year and need the double bed setup in J to survive with an infant too big for a bassinet that wonít sleep in her own seat.
benzemalyonnais is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread