Using Uber in London

Old Jan 14, 16, 2:22 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 152
Using Uber in London

I have a US Uber account which I have yet to use. I'll be in London next week and just received a 15GBP Uber credit from National Express which I would like to use to get from Victoria to my hotel. My question is my Uber account is linked to my US cell phone. Will I have to use that # to request a car or will I be able to switch to and use my UK sim?

Really not sure of how any of this works
Nancy Colson is offline  
Old Jan 14, 16, 4:27 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bye Delta
Programs: AA EXP, HH Diamond, IHG Plat, Hyatt Plat, SPG Gold, MR Gold, Nat'l Exec Elite, Avis Presidents Club
Posts: 15,094
Usually the credit is tied to your Uber account, not to your phone. So as long as you're logged into the Uber app using the account where you have the credit at the time you request a ride, the credit should be applied.
javabytes is online now  
Old Jan 15, 16, 1:44 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: London
Programs: BAEC bouncing from Blue to Gold to Blue VSFC Red CXGreen Club Accor Platinum Hilton Silver.
Posts: 834
I'm uk based and use Uber on 2 different Cell Phones one of them in the US. Without trouble the only caveat is they are both UK sim's.
John
thejohn is online now  
Old Jan 15, 16, 2:07 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: LHR/SFO
Programs: 1K (until 2021), *G for "life", Global Entry, Hertz PC, Cadbury's Rum and Raisin Emeritus
Posts: 15,743
I think the only "issue" might be the phone number that you have registered the Uber account with if they need to call you as a UK Uber driver is not likely to want to call a US mobile if he she needs to. Perhaps there is a simple way around it. Having said that I have used UBer with it registered to my UK number in the USA with no issues so it should work seamlessly the other way around I assume. If you really wanted to it is easy enough to go into Settings and edit your account and put your UK number in there.
Silver Fox is offline  
Old Jan 15, 16, 5:23 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,515
I used my US Uber in Paris without a hitch. I wish Uber offered the ability to include roaming numbers for that purpose or direct passenger communication system. At the airport, the individual had no problem calling a US mobile. In Central Paris, they never called but were always there.

Toggle Mobile and Truphone both offer SIM cards with a US and a UK Mobile number on the same card. You can also get a temporary UK number from Roamer, Hushed, or a ton of other services.
Dubai Stu is offline  
Old Jan 16, 16, 4:12 am
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: London and Zurich
Programs: AA, BA, Mucci: Sir Roger des Directions Routières, PCR
Posts: 13,609
Originally Posted by Dubai Stu View Post
Toggle Mobile and Truphone both offer SIM cards with a US and a UK Mobile number on the same card.
Toggle also have the facility of local numbers in each of their local territories. They must be set up in advance, then activated on arrival. (I have a UK card with permanent US and Swiss numbers.)

What I'm not sure of is whether the local number shows up when being used locally. I fear that my (UK) number will show when roaming? Do you have any experience of this?

Thanks.
Roger is offline  
Old Jan 16, 16, 7:39 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: London
Programs: AA EXP, SPG Plt
Posts: 2,477
Wirelessly posted (Blackberry8700c: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 9_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/601.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) CriOS/47.0.2526.107 Mobile/13A342 Safari/601.1.46)

They do now have an option to use a temporary phone number. When you click to call the driver it lets you input a temp #.
BobbySteel is offline  
Old Jan 16, 16, 8:01 am
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: PWM - the way life should be
Posts: 11,701
It has come to my attention that we have an Uber forum - so off to it this goes!
gfunkdave is offline  
Old Jan 16, 16, 10:57 am
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: LHR/SFO
Programs: 1K (until 2021), *G for "life", Global Entry, Hertz PC, Cadbury's Rum and Raisin Emeritus
Posts: 15,743
Originally Posted by Roger View Post
Toggle also have the facility of local numbers in each of their local territories. They must be set up in advance, then activated on arrival. (I have a UK card with permanent US and Swiss numbers.)

What I'm not sure of is whether the local number shows up when being used locally. I fear that my (UK) number will show when roaming? Do you have any experience of this?

Thanks.
I have Toggle. The local number shows up; so if you are in the USA and using your USA number and text/call someone in the UK your USA number will show up, ie. it is the local number of the country you are roaming in (and for which you have activated a local number) that will show up.
Silver Fox is offline  
Old Jan 16, 16, 11:08 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 336
You can change the phone number in the profile anytime you want.

Keep the registered credit card handy, as Uber may request that you send a picture of the credit card, to confirm it is you trying to use the account in the foreign country.
TObject is offline  
Old Jan 17, 16, 4:22 am
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: London and Zurich
Programs: AA, BA, Mucci: Sir Roger des Directions Routières, PCR
Posts: 13,609
Originally Posted by Silver Fox View Post
I have Toggle. The local number shows up; so if you are in the USA and using your USA number and text/call someone in the UK your USA number will show up, ie. it is the local number of the country you are roaming in (and for which you have activated a local number) that will show up.
Good to know. Thank you.
Roger is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread