Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Qatar Airways | Privilege Club
Reload this Page >

Advice re advanced passenger information (Qatar)

Advice re advanced passenger information (Qatar)

Old Apr 24, 2023, 12:55 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: North of Carlisle
Programs: BAEC Silver
Posts: 1,526
Advice re advanced passenger information (Qatar)

Just looking for some advice on whether API is required for my son’s flight from London to Australia (transit Doha). Departing London this weekend. He has his tourist visa for Australia and all prepared to check in on Thursday. Just want to cross the T’s and dot the I’s at this stage. Is he missing anything ? I also see on the Qatar website that flights from Heathrow require attendance 4hrs before departure. Is this still the case ?
mike&co is offline  
Old Apr 24, 2023, 1:14 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: LON
Programs: BAEC
Posts: 3,831
Originally Posted by mike&co
Just looking for some advice on whether API is required for my son’s flight from London to Australia (transit Doha). Departing London this weekend. He has his tourist visa for Australia and all prepared to check in on Thursday. Just want to cross the T’s and dot the I’s at this stage. Is he missing anything ? I also see on the Qatar website that flights from Heathrow require attendance 4hrs before departure. Is this still the case ?
API can be done at the airport, you don't need to do it in advance but you have the option of doing so online.

I think the advice for 4 hours for check in is excessive and is probably a bit of out date, 3 hours should be fine unless you want to arrive earlier.
mike&co likes this.
plunet is offline  
Old Apr 24, 2023, 1:25 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: North of Carlisle
Programs: BAEC Silver
Posts: 1,526
Originally Posted by plunet
API can be done at the airport, you don't need to do it in advance but you have the option of doing so online.

I think the advice for 4 hours for check in is excessive and is probably a bit of out date, 3 hours should be fine unless you want to arrive earlier.
Thank you, much appreciated. Trying the Qatar app and the web site but I don’t see where it can be submitted beforehand. Can you advise. He’s in London and I’m passing this information to him, so not easy.
mike&co is offline  
Old Apr 24, 2023, 1:30 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5,615
Originally Posted by mike&co
Thank you, much appreciated. Trying the Qatar app and the web site but I don’t see where it can be submitted beforehand. Can you advise. He’s in London and I’m passing this information to him, so not easy.
He can probably do it during online checkin. All the airlines save money and effort by having us do the data entry they would otherwise have to do, but still it is good to do it yourself so there are no errors. If it can't be done during OLCI, as stated above they will do it for you during checkin.
mike&co likes this.
SeeBuyFly is offline  
Old Apr 25, 2023, 4:14 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Posts: 966
Originally Posted by plunet
I think the advice for 4 hours for check in is excessive and is probably a bit of out date, 3 hours should be fine unless you want to arrive earlier.
I thought QR check-in only opened 3 hours before the flight? I could have longer in the lounge instead of hanging around landside if it opens earlier.
garethmorgan is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.