Wiki Posts
Search

OW Ruby w/o Card

Search this Thread

Old Jan 18, 2005, 9:14 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AAdvantage, United
OW Ruby w/o Card

I know this is a newbie question, but I'm giving it a try.

I just hit AA gold over the new year (OW ruby), but my new card is sitting somewhere back in the States (I'm in SYD now), I'll be flying SYD-AKL, AKL-LAX, and LAX-BOS over the next 10 days on QF, and wondering if I can expect the gate/ticket counter people to give me a problem using the few perks I get (boarding, check-in, etc.). I'm new at this, so I don't really have a clue.

Thanks much.
Old Jan 18, 2005, 9:22 pm
Moderator, Hilton Honors

Programs: some
If your AA number is in the system then you may be okay as QF will see (and print on your boarding pass) that you are OW Ruby.
Old Jan 19, 2005, 12:27 am

Programs: QC, QF, Avis Preferred, BW Crown Club, Priority Club
Originally Posted by BabyLitigator
I know this is a newbie question, but I'm giving it a try.

I just hit AA gold over the new year (OW ruby), but my new card is sitting somewhere back in the States (I'm in SYD now), I'll be flying SYD-AKL, AKL-LAX, and LAX-BOS over the next 10 days on QF, and wondering if I can expect the gate/ticket counter people to give me a problem using the few perks I get (boarding, check-in, etc.). I'm new at this, so I don't really have a clue.

Thanks much.
Contact the airline with whom you fly more (AA?) and ask them for a printout of your status. They can do almost a certificiate that confirms status and you can use that to gain perks.
Old Jan 19, 2005, 1:45 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

I was recently flying ZQN-AKL (all-Y config) and they announced preboarding of OW Sapphire's and Emeralds. I'm sapphire (AA Plt) but I forgot to give my FF # at check-in, and I don't have a card yet either, but the agent said to just go ahead. Those Kiwis are friendly! Probably didn't hurt that nobody else got up for preboarding...