Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals > Premium Fare Deals
Reload this Page >

Saudia | ATH - Various Asia | Business RT from €700

Saudia | ATH - Various Asia | Business RT from €700

Old Jun 22, 22, 1:55 pm
  #421  
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: VIE/PRG
Programs: FB Platinum, A3 Gold, BA Silver, Marriott Platinum Elite
Posts: 1,268
Does anybody know if I need anything else over valid passport on a flight from JED to Asia via RUH? Same flight number.
747jetter is offline  
Old Jun 22, 22, 2:35 pm
  #422  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 822
Originally Posted by 747jetter View Post
Does anybody know if I need anything else over valid passport on a flight from JED to Asia via RUH? Same flight number.
Are you starting travel in JED ?
ElJudioErrante is offline  
Old Jun 22, 22, 6:50 pm
  #423  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: London
Programs: Hilton, IHG - BA, LH, QR, TK
Posts: 15,270
Originally Posted by 747jetter View Post
Does anybody know if I need anything else over valid passport on a flight from JED to Asia via RUH? Same flight number.
You mean connecting directly in Jeddah from outside KSA to a flight to Asia which stops in Riyadh? Then you are probably talking something like Saudia846 which operates as an international flight from Jeddah to Bangkok with a transit in Riyadh to pick up passengers: you'll be fine if you're passport is fine. Though it would be sensible to call the airline to check.

If you are starting the journey in Jeddah as a resident in KSA you must know about the iqama/contract requirements.
IAN-UK is offline  
Old Jun 22, 22, 11:15 pm
  #424  
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: VIE/PRG
Programs: FB Platinum, A3 Gold, BA Silver, Marriott Platinum Elite
Posts: 1,268
Originally Posted by IAN-UK View Post
You mean connecting directly in Jeddah from outside KSA to a flight to Asia which stops in Riyadh? Then you are probably talking something like Saudia846 which operates as an international flight from Jeddah to Bangkok with a transit in Riyadh to pick up passengers: you'll be fine if you're passport is fine. Though it would be sensible to call the airline to check.

If you are starting the journey in Jeddah as a resident in KSA you must know about the iqama/contract requirements.
I’ll be starting in IST and my passport is okay to transit JED and to enter final destination. So it seems like a technical stop in RUH where I’ll stay on board. I called SV and both agents (called twice) said it’s possible but I have doubts they understood what I’m really asking.
747jetter is offline  
Old Jun 23, 22, 3:19 am
  #425  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK
Programs: BA GfL & GGL, MB Titanium, IHG Platinum, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 1,690
I recently transited at JED without any issues. No need for visa, Covid test or the Tawakkalna app but this may depend on your passport.
MaxFlyer is offline  
Old Jun 23, 22, 4:23 am
  #426  
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: VIE/PRG
Programs: FB Platinum, A3 Gold, BA Silver, Marriott Platinum Elite
Posts: 1,268
Originally Posted by MaxFlyer View Post
I recently transited at JED without any issues. No need for visa, Covid test or the Tawakkalna app but this may depend on your passport.
yeah I know transit is ok
747jetter is offline  
Old Jun 23, 22, 7:00 pm
  #427  
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 47
Originally Posted by MaxFlyer View Post
I recently transited at JED without any issues. No need for visa, Covid test or the Tawakkalna app but this may depend on your passport.
Have you been to the new Lounge at JED? Any good?
pete_ncl is offline  
Old Jun 23, 22, 8:31 pm
  #428  
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Programs: SQ AA TK
Posts: 1,386
Originally Posted by 747jetter View Post
Does anybody know if I need anything else over valid passport on a flight from JED to Asia via RUH? Same flight number.
This was pre-covid. I used to take such flights, routing either JED-RUH, heck even MED-JED on the inbound leg and once even did a transfer in MED which involved being escorted past immigration and back into the departure hall as there was no transit setup.

As long as it's on an international flight number, and you booked it as part of an international itinerary it's not a problem. You stay onboard the plane. The domestic sector is treated as an "international sector" with all passengers cleared immigration and considered to have already left Saudi Arabia. Can't advise if things changed post Covid though.
747jetter likes this.
dfs24 is offline  
Old Jun 24, 22, 12:53 am
  #429  
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Aarhus, DK
Programs: A3 Gold, BA Silver
Posts: 787
For anyone looking at cheaper pricing for this fare. The cheap departure point currently are from the UAE. AUH and DXB have good option even with SV winter schedule being thin.
I might have mentioned it before. I am not 100% sure so wanted to mention it again if I have.
MaxFlyer and jfkeze like this.
NextWhiteDeath is offline  
Old Jun 24, 22, 11:55 am
  #430  
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: VIE/PRG
Programs: FB Platinum, A3 Gold, BA Silver, Marriott Platinum Elite
Posts: 1,268
Originally Posted by dfs24 View Post
This was pre-covid. I used to take such flights, routing either JED-RUH, heck even MED-JED on the inbound leg and once even did a transfer in MED which involved being escorted past immigration and back into the departure hall as there was no transit setup.

As long as it's on an international flight number, and you booked it as part of an international itinerary it's not a problem. You stay onboard the plane. The domestic sector is treated as an "international sector" with all passengers cleared immigration and considered to have already left Saudi Arabia. Can't advise if things changed post Covid though.
Thank you, I very well remember such a routing MXP-JED-MED-some city in Indonesia years ago booked as one way, if memory serves even on 747, never did this tho. I am about to book these flights tonight so thanks for your comment. I do not expect any issue after covid.
747jetter is offline  
Old Jun 24, 22, 1:01 pm
  #431  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Multiple locations
Programs: AAdvantage ExPlat LT Gold, BA Silver, Aegean Star Gold
Posts: 4,588
Originally Posted by 747jetter View Post
Thank you, I very well remember such a routing MXP-JED-MED-some city in Indonesia years ago booked as one way, if memory serves even on 747, never did this tho. I am about to book these flights tonight so thanks for your comment. I do not expect any issue after covid.
Surabaya and looks like an FTer made a trip report pre-Covid
jfkeze is online now  
Old Jun 24, 22, 1:56 pm
  #432  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 822
Originally Posted by pete_ncl View Post
Have you been to the new Lounge at JED? Any good?
New lounge at JED is large and good.
A/C can be overpowering , I've also known it not to work . Wifi can be spotty .
F&B acceptable . One won't go hungry there.
Decent coffee and chocolate dept.





​​​

​​​​​
pete_ncl likes this.
ElJudioErrante is offline  
Old Jun 24, 22, 10:42 pm
  #433  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BGW & CPH
Programs: Eurobonus Lifetime Gold, Flying Blue Platinum, Turkish Airlines Elite, Royal Jordanian Silver
Posts: 246
Originally Posted by NextWhiteDeath View Post
For anyone looking at cheaper pricing for this fare. The cheap departure point currently are from the UAE. AUH and DXB have good option even with SV winter schedule being thin.
I might have mentioned it before. I am not 100% sure so wanted to mention it again if I have.
Thank you for flagging this. Indeed very good fares incl MNL and BKK with short stop-overs in JED 👍🏻
Hafnia is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread