Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Enter Italy without a visa? Time sensitive!

Search this Thread

Old Mar 24, 2015, 6:52 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AAA
Exclamation Enter Italy without a visa? Time sensitive!

UPDATE: We got it!

After quite a bit of nasty attitudes from the representatives, they approved the new insurance letter + we also bought traveler's insurance as an added measure. What a pain in the .... Thanks for all of your feedback!

Original post below:
-----------------------

Hi all, I'm having a small crisis and I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice!

I'm a native NYC resident, but my wife is a Chinese citizen (with a Green Card), and we recently booked a fairly expensive trip to Italy for almost a month duration. She applied for her visa, all documents were accepted, etc., and we waited for about 3 weeks. We never got her passport back in the mail.

We contacted the visa agency, who told us that we hadn't submitted enough proof of health insurance coverage, and they had basically just let the documents sit on a desk, never alerting us to the problem.

They are very agressive and rude on the phone, and refuse to accept any responsibility. Fine, so we ask what next steps are. I get a letter from the insurance company proving coverage today, so we'll reapply.

The issue is, the representative at the counter was (apparently) supposed to give us a receipt for when we return with said documents - and he never did. There is a possibility that they will deny us. The trip is in 15 days, and they don't have an opening to reapply for another 20+ days.

My question is this: can she travel to Italy without a visa? And if so, what hurdles should we begin jumping ASAP?

I don't mind spending some extra money for expedited processing, etc., since we've already sunk a lot into this trip. Thank you so much in advance for any advice!

Last edited by CorporalMaxSterling; Mar 30, 2015 at 3:29 pm Reason: Resolved
Old Mar 24, 2015, 7:21 pm