Wiki Posts
Search

YYZ customs

Search this Thread

Old Oct 2, 2010, 8:06 pm
Original Poster

YYZ customs

hello FT!

I'm flying from FLL-ATL-YYZ and I'm not sure if I clear customs in ATL or YYz? If I do clear customs in ATL, will I have to recollect my baggage and check it again?

I have the same question for my return (YYZ-MEM-FLL)

Thanks in advance for your help: Im a novice flyer and this is my first solo trip.
Old Oct 2, 2010, 8:08 pm

Programs: DL DM MM, BIS 2.4MM, EK Gold, SQ Gold, Marriott Gold, HH Gold,
You clear customs when you arrive in the foreign country; you will clear customs in Canada.
Old Oct 2, 2010, 8:08 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: UA 1K, MR LTT, HH Dia, Amex Plat
both ways in YYZ
Old Oct 2, 2010, 8:36 pm

Programs: Waffle House DM
To be specific;

Way Out

1. Check bag in FLL through to YYZ.
2. Domestic leg FLL-ATL, you MAY be asked for your passport at FLL, but you can do online check in, so it's not guaranteed (make sure you have it).
3. Change in ATL, you WILL be required to show your passport before boarding for YYZ.
4. Arrive in YYZ, hand over completed boarding card and passport to Canadian Customs Agents, welcome to Canada.

Way Back

5. Depart YYZ - TAKE NOTE - You will check in and then walk to the US departures area, it is a long walk, give yourself time. You must complete a Blue customs declaration at this point.
6. You then enter a US Customs and Immigration area where your Passport and Customs forms are checked.
7. Once you cross the line past the Customs and Border Protection Agent you are effectively on US soil (but still in Toronto Airport).
8. Once you board and take off from YYZ it's the same as being on a domestic leg to MEM.

For some reason the Canadian based CBP agents seem to be even more charmless and uncivil than the rest of them, so don't give them an excuse to fark you over. Get your customs declaration complete, have all your stuff together and smile until you are through.
Old Oct 2, 2010, 8:38 pm