DONE4.....How does this look?

Old Mar 1, 06, 4:46 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Fla.
Programs: Starwood life Plt, AA Gold.,Delta . ,Priority Plat,IC Ambassador
Posts: 408
DONE4.....How does this look?

Greetings;

As suggested by a number of FT members I am asking for a"check" of my DONE4. Would the experts give it a look over and I would appreciate any comments?

Thanks..........TomT

ist-lhr-auh-lhr-lax-bos-sju-mia-bos (overland) jfk-hkg-del-hkg-dps-hkg {0verland) bkk-syd-chc-syd-cns-syd-lhr-ist
TomT is offline  
Old Mar 1, 06, 5:52 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Circle City
Posts: 3,562
Originally Posted by TomT
Greetings;

As suggested by a number of FT members I am asking for a"check" of my DONE4. Would the experts give it a look over and I would appreciate any comments?

Thanks..........TomT

ist-lhr-auh-lhr-lax-bos-sju-mia-bos (overland) jfk-hkg-del-hkg-dps-hkg {0verland) bkk-syd-chc-syd-cns-syd-lhr-ist
It's fine. Sounds like a great trip.
Darren is offline  
Old Mar 1, 06, 7:16 am
  #3  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Programs: None any more
Posts: 11,015
Agreed, provided that only two out of lhr,auh,lhr,lhr are stopovers. Surprised you are doing Sydney 3 times and not Melbourne instead on one occasion though.
christep is offline  
Old Mar 1, 06, 7:31 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Fla.
Programs: Starwood life Plt, AA Gold.,Delta . ,Priority Plat,IC Ambassador
Posts: 408
Originally Posted by christep
Agreed, provided that only two out of lhr,auh,lhr,lhr are stopovers. Surprised you are doing Sydney 3 times and not Melbourne instead on one occasion though.
Auh is a stop over, LHR's are just connections. As always I seem to get something else to think about when I post a question.......I don't know why I have not considered Malborne....will play with it....Thanks all...TT
TomT is offline  
Old Mar 1, 06, 1:38 pm
  #5  
Moderator, Hilton Honors
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: hopefully travelling
Programs: up in the air
Posts: 70,787
Originally Posted by TomT
Greetings;

As suggested by a number of FT members I am asking for a"check" of my DONE4. Would the experts give it a look over and I would appreciate any comments?

Thanks..........TomT

ist-lhr-auh-lhr-lax-bos-sju-mia-bos (overland) jfk-hkg-del-hkg-dps-hkg {0verland) bkk-syd-chc-syd-cns-syd-lhr-ist
The SJU flights have the front cabin as business, unlike the other us domestic flights.

SYD-CHC-SYD is being switched from Qantas mainline to subsidiary Jetstar = no business class.
Kiwi Flyer is offline  
Old Mar 1, 06, 1:52 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Fla.
Programs: Starwood life Plt, AA Gold.,Delta . ,Priority Plat,IC Ambassador
Posts: 408
Syd-chc-syd...?

Originally Posted by Kiwi Flyer
The SJU flights have the front cabin as business, unlike the other us domestic flights.

SYD-CHC-SYD is being switched from Qantas mainline to subsidiary Jetstar = no business class.

Hi again,

Does that mean no miles/points credit .......this is part MR to earn AA EX Plat.
TomT is offline  
Old Mar 1, 06, 2:11 pm
  #7  
Moderator, Hilton Honors
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: hopefully travelling
Programs: up in the air
Posts: 70,787
Unless you need to be in CHC (or elsewhere in the South Island) I'd suggest SYD-AKL-SYD. Not much difference in miles and that route will definitely remain QF mainline since it is such an important business route.
Kiwi Flyer is offline  
Old Mar 1, 06, 6:20 pm
  #8  
Moderator, OneWorld
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: SEA
Programs: RAA RIP; AA ExEXP
Posts: 10,226
I think the itinerary looks fine; if it were me I'd probably try to tweak some more miles out of N. America (eg SJU-MIA) but that's probably quibbling.

I've been working on a wee spreadsheet to get a handle on our next DONE4 (most likely starting in August or Sept.) and have taken note of some recent chatter about BA's imposition of fuel surcharges and other fees that are not necessarily the same if ticketing through AA and/or avoiding high-fee airports like LHR.

Depending on where you're coming from, and on your other travel plans, it might be cheaper ticketing through AA and originating at FRA or CDG than IST, given (possibly) lower taxes/fees and no need for rather pricey intra-Europe "positioning" flights. If one originated at an intercontinental hub aside from London (eg FRA, CDG, MAD, BRU, HEL) you wouldn't need to use 2 of your 4 Europe segments just getting to an intercontinental gateway, which might be beneficial later.

Based on my scratch itinerary and educated guesses at fuel charges, taxes etc. it looks (for us - YMMV big time) that we'd save around US$400 all in by starting in Paris rather than IST. ("All in" being defined as US-Europe, intra-Europe, RTW ticket, taxes, getting home after.)

No offense to Ulya and the gang, but $400 x 2 buys a couple of decent nights and meals in Paris.
Gardyloo is offline  
Old Mar 1, 06, 7:44 pm
  #9  
og
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SYD
Programs: QF WP/LTG | UA P
Posts: 12,795
As of last week and until at least November 2006, QF still show QF 45 / 46 SYD-CHC-SYD in either a 763 or 743 - both with a Business cabin. Only one return flight per day. There are DeathStar flights too - if you want no legroom and no service in Economy only.

I can certainly recommend going to CHC. Plenty to do especially if mountains and great scenery are on your agenda. Of course, WLG is an option too (take the ferry to Picton and explore Queen Charlotte Sound). Check out the Marlborough wineries around Blenheim.
og is offline  
Old Mar 2, 06, 5:03 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Programs: QF Gold LTG (ow Saph), HHon Diamond, Marriot Gold
Posts: 2,828
also given the new QF direct SYD-PEK service you might want to consider building it in for more miles
moa999 is offline  
Old Apr 13, 06, 5:39 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Surrey U.K.
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 418
Originally Posted by moa999
also given the new QF direct SYD-PEK service you might want to consider building it in for more miles
I cant get syd-pek to work in the one world checker. Am I doing something wrong?
DocH is offline  
Old Apr 13, 06, 8:54 am
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG►VA WP►HyattGlobalist►HiltonGold
Posts: 21,312
Originally Posted by DocH
I cant get syd-pek to work in the one world checker. Am I doing something wrong?
Probably not; the "one world checker" seems only to have very current timetables installed on its database; Try DFW-ANC and you will see what I mean.
serfty is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread