Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Mileage run advice

Search this Thread

Old Jan 23, 2002, 12:13 pm
Original Poster

Mileage run advice

I posted this message on the American Airlines board, and it was suggested I should try here also - so here goes.....

I'm new to this game so looking for any advice that the collective flyertalk brains can muster.

A friend is holding a bachelor party in Prague on the weekend of April 5-7. I have plenty of vacation and am looking to do a run (I'm determined to make AA EXP this year) around this trip (leaving from ORD). I am happy to arrive in Prague early, (or leave later than the weekend) and prepared to go almost anywhere in pursuit of AA miles.

I've tried a few itineraries on aa.com, but the moment I deviate from direct flights to LHR, the prices rocket. Prague only seems to be served by BA (from an AA mile collection point of view), so it looks like LHR is my only option.

Any advice is gratefully received.
Old Jan 24, 2002, 7:33 am
Suspended

You might try AA to FRA via DFW. There has been some very good fares. I think you will get more Q miles this way than ORD-LHR with a BA connection. From FRA you might check with a lower cost carrier or take the train. I think the air miles from FRA are around 250 so not a big loss of FF miles if you don't get them.

I priced BA out of LGW and LHR to PRG for Apr 3 & 8 and it looks like $228 (651 miles each way). LGW would be a better bet as you route ORD-DFW-LGW for 5566 miles rather than ORD-LHR for 3945 on AA.

I was getting on AA ORD-RDU-LGW (4530 miles) for $480rt and ORD-DFW-LGW (5566 miles) for $527.

[This message has been edited by drtravels (edited 01-24-2002).]

[This message has been edited by drtravels (edited 01-24-2002).]
Old Jan 24, 2002, 11:00 am

<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by americangooner:
A friend is holding a bachelor party in Prague on the weekend of April 5-7. </font>