BA vs. AA First Class

Old Jan 6, 02, 10:55 pm
  #1  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: South Bend, IN
Programs: AA EXP 3 MM; Marriott Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium Elite
Posts: 17,569
BA vs. AA First Class

Here is a OWE based hypothetical . . .

Would you forgo 10,000 miles (LHR-LAX + Plat. bonus) to fly BA's First Class over American's?

I know BA has a far superior product, but the loss of the 10,000 miles is a big deal.

Do you think it would be worth it.
PresRDC is offline  
Old Jan 6, 02, 11:11 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Little dot on map
Programs: AA-PlatLife, BA-Gold, SPG-LTP, HL-DIA
Posts: 25,746
How about if you do LHR-NYC and then NYC-LAX on AA? Then you give up half of your miles on your AA account.

I can't help you as I also have other ONEWORLD partner FF programmes, therefore no bonus miles on any BA sector. I'd credit the transatlantic flight to an account other than AA, and credit the rest on AAdvantage.

I prefer any international F class over AA's. So it's not a 'point' issue only.

[This message has been edited by Guy Betsy (edited 01-06-2002).]
Guy Betsy is offline  
Old Jan 6, 02, 11:15 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: South Bend, IN
Programs: AA EXP 3 MM; Marriott Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium Elite
Posts: 17,569
I'd do that, but my route is already set and the ticket has been paid for (and reissued once already).
PresRDC is offline  
Old Jan 6, 02, 11:37 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: LAX, HKG
Programs: AA EXPLT, BA Gold, Shang Elite
Posts: 2,228
(opinion only)

i would forgo the mile for quality (after all, the miles are used to upgrade and improve quality) UNLESS this would threaten your AADV status renewal.
But if you need those (q-)miles for status, i would suggest you stick with AA.
btw, also check if there is 2x/3x mile promo on BA (there were a lot for RT (i.e. 2 1-way segments) last year, and i got even more mile under the 3x mile promo (4x for BAGOLD, vs 3x for AA incl the e-up conversion)
pegasus8228 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread