Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Global Airline Alliances > oneworld
Reload this Page >

OWE RTW does not have to RTW now?

OWE RTW does not have to RTW now?

Old Nov 22, 01, 12:13 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: LAX, HKG
Programs: AA EXPLT, BA Gold, Shang Elite
Posts: 2,228
OWE RTW does not have to RTW now?

heard this new OWE rule.

since 9/15, you no longer have to pass both oceans to be called RTW.
i.e. Asia-Europe-Aussie-Asia is a 3 continent "RTW", as a corrolary, Asia-NA-Aussie-Asia, Europ-NA-SA-Europe as well? i suppose there is no stopover if you pass through BKK on route LHR-SYD.
can out friends who have Sabre access confirm?
pegasus8228 is offline  
Old Nov 22, 01, 12:28 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Seat 1A
Programs: Non-status paid F/J (best value for $$$)
Posts: 3,795
But aren't these a seperate type of Oneworld fare?

the one you mentioned where it is Asia-australia-North America-Asia is considered to be a "Circle Pacific" fare which is totally different from the Oneworld X Continent fares.
daniellam is offline  
Old Nov 23, 01, 9:28 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: LAX, HKG
Programs: AA EXPLT, BA Gold, Shang Elite
Posts: 2,228
seems it is OWE, but 'circle-anywhere' now.
see www.169travel.com
(the site is in chinese)

pegasus8228 is offline  
Old Nov 25, 01, 9:58 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Little dot on map
Programs: AA-PlatLife, BA-Gold, SPG-LTP, HL-DIA
Posts: 25,737
Only a Global Explorer need not be RTW. The example you mentioned above is not Circle Pacific as Europe is not in the Pacific.

OWE is still very much a RTW fare.
Guy Betsy is offline  
Old Nov 25, 01, 4:40 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: FTFOE
Programs: TalkBoard: We discuss / ad nauseum things that mean / so very little
Posts: 10,224
Global Explorer rules seem to suggest that it must be a RTW. Then again, maybe not. Anyone know what Areas 1, 2, and 3 are?

<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">109N . 3. TRAVEL MUST INCLUDE A POINT IN AREA 1, AREA 2,
110N . AND AREA 3 AND MUST BE VIA BOTH THE ATLANTIC
111N . AND PACIFIC OCEANS. ONLY ONE TRANSATLANTIC
112N . AND ONE TRANSPACIFIC FLIGHT IS PERMITTED.</font>
FewMiles..

------------------
[ FlyerTalkers' Resources on the Web ]
[ Unofficial Guide to AAdvantage ] [ Unofficial oneworld Info Desk ]
FewMiles is offline  
Old Nov 25, 01, 6:09 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: australia
Posts: 4,911
There are indeed two variations available from Australia at least that do not require RTW travel.

3 Continent Oneworld circle trip AUS-Asia-Africa-AUS

4 Continent Oneworld circle trip AUS-Asia-Europe-Africa-AUS

There are some rule variations from the standard Oneworld RTW fares. eg stopovers are limited to 2 in each continent and the 4 continent fare allows a maximum of only 6 stopovers in total as opposed to a maximium of 19 stops 0n the 4 continent RTW fare or more if you buy extra segments.

For complete rules go to www.travel.com.au and type in SYD-JNB return for the 3 continent and SYD-LHR return for the 4 continent.

Pricing is exactly the same as the RTW Oneworld Explorer fare
3544quebec is offline  
Old Nov 25, 01, 8:05 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: LAX, HKG
Programs: AA EXPLT, BA Gold, Shang Elite
Posts: 2,228
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by FewMiles:
Global Explorer rules seem to suggest that it must be a RTW. Then again, maybe not. Anyone know what Areas 1, 2, and 3 are?

FewMiles..

</font>
areas 1/2/3 are basically dividing the earth vertically. NA&SA; Asia&Oz; Europ&Africa
so, each point in 1/2/3 mean RTW

pegasus8228 is offline  
Old Nov 26, 01, 7:27 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: May 2001
Programs: AA PLT 2MM, LH SEN *, HH Gold
Posts: 3,075
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by FewMiles:

MUST BE VIA BOTH THE ATLANTIC
AND PACIFIC OCEANS. ONLY ONE TRANSATLANTIC
AND ONE TRANSPACIFIC FLIGHT IS PERMITTED.
</font>
I think what you quoted says it all, you must cross the Atlantic and the Pacific exactly once. If you add the requirement of finishing the trip in the country of origin it's quite clearly RTW.
Hagbard Viking is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread