FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   MilesBuzz (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/milesbuzz-370/)
-   -   Can miles from frequent flyer programs from the same alliance be combined? (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/milesbuzz/1388487-can-miles-frequent-flyer-programs-same-alliance-combined.html)

joer1212 Sep 17, 2012 12:28 pm

Can miles from frequent flyer programs from the same alliance be combined?

I guess the title explains it all.
I am a newbie, and this is one the last critical questions I have before I do an app party (for the first time).
I am aware that miles from frequent flyer programs from different alliances cannot be combined. However, I am unclear about whether ff miles from the same alliance can be combined.
For example, if I do an app-o-rama, and I apply for the United Mileage Plus card (55,000 mile bonus); the USAirways Dividend Miles card (40,000 mile bonus), and the Avianca/Taca Life Miles card (20,000 mile bonus), after I get the miles, can they be pooled into any one of these programs so that I have 115k miles?
If this cannot be done, it will put a significant damper on my ability to earn flights, as I will have miles scattered in different programs, none of which will be redeemable for an international business class flight, because I won't have enough miles in any one program. And, earning additional miles to make up the difference in the conventional manner (2X miles, 5X miles for purchases) will take forever. My miles will probably expire before I actually achieve this.
By the way, if in fact miles from different programs cannot be combined, how on earth does anyone ever earn a business class flight (let alone first class!)?

travelisfree Sep 17, 2012 12:31 pm

Nope. You can redeem on airlines within an alliance but that is very different.

Good luck.

amolkold Sep 17, 2012 12:33 pm

No, it cannot be done.