Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Milage Run Ethics

Search this Thread

Old Nov 2, 2017, 11:48 am

Programs: AA ExPl, DL PM, UA Silver, Hyatt Globalist, Marriott Titanium, probably some others
Originally Posted by FCIan
Hi All,

I am a travel professional, freelance journalist and blogger and I recently wrote an article about the ethics of milage runs. I wanted to hear from those involved in the practise, to understand if there is a side to the coin that I am missing.

The environmental impact is a huge concern. Do people not think about global warming? Do they deny its existence? Is it not your responsibility? Or are there other reasons that justify miles run practises.

I am very much aware I am in the lions den here but my desire for answers outweighs any criticism that may come my way. No answers will be published, this is solely research.

Any thoughts guys?
Sorry for some of the very obnoxious and tiresome replies in this thread. People think saying the word "clickbait" is smart criticism or mentioning the phrase "virtue signaling" is a meaningful point in response to a genuine question when they themselves are the one guilty of what they're suggesting.

It's a fair question, and I suspect if most people engaged with it genuinely, the fairest answer you'll probably get is "The plane would still be taking off without me." I'm quite confident the percentage of MRs on a given flight on any given day are incredibly slim and so we're looking at the difference between 160 on a plane and 160.001 people on a plane.

In terms of what I do to counteract that, I don't commute for my work, and when I do commute, I'm using public transportation, so I suspect I'm saving quite a bit in terms of consumption that way. It's a big mish-mosh in my head, but I'm going to do the math and figure out whether I'm actually neutral versus the average person after reading your post. Thanks for writing!
Old Nov 2, 2017, 2:28 pm