Milage Run Ethics

Old Oct 31, 2017, 8:22 am
Original Poster

Mileage Run Ethics

Hi All,

I am a travel professional, freelance journalist and blogger and I recently wrote an article about the ethics of milage runs. I wanted to hear from those involved in the practise, to understand if there is a side to the coin that I am missing.

The environmental impact is a huge concern. Do people not think about global warming? Do they deny its existence? Is it not your responsibility? Or are there other reasons that justify miles run practises.

I am very much aware I am in the lions den here but my desire for answers outweighs any criticism that may come my way. No answers will be published, this is solely research.

Any thoughts guys?

Last edited by FCIan; Nov 5, 2017 at 10:19 am
Old Oct 31, 2017, 8:25 am

No offence, but it seems you are trying to find a problem where there isn't one.

That plane is going to fly regardless of whether I am on it or not.
Old Oct 31, 2017, 8:30 am

Programs: British Airways Gold
Tiresome virtue signalling
LovePrunes, Fabo.sk and AStarr like this.
Old Oct 31, 2017, 8:32 am

Originally Posted by 1PercentClub
I was going to point out the same, but I suppose the argument can be made that:

a) there is added fuel cost due to the extra weight of your body

b) any disposal from the plane directly related to you

That said, I don't think either are a significant impact on the environment, but I'm sure someone somewhere can do enough math and come up with a large impact figure after considering years worth of this type of activity.
Old Oct 31, 2017, 10:38 am
C W

Programs: DL PM, AS MVP 75K, HH/SPG/MR Gold, Amex Plat, PRG, CSR