Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals > Mileage Run Discussion
Reload this Page >

Considering a MR on DL, first timer, advice please!

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 4, 2010, 9:30 pm
Original Poster

Programs: DL PM, AA PM, HHonors Diamond, Marriott Platinum

I will be traveling to DC on business the week of Jan. 18th. I can fly CHS-ATL-IAD roundtrip for $380 (leaving Tuesday, returning Saturday), or I can fly CHS-ATL-IAD, then IAD-ATL-SFO-ATL-CHS on the same days for $497. As I've never done a mileage run before, I'd like to know 1) if this is a good deal, 2) if I can improve my earnings (aside from buying up to a Y/B/M fare), and 3) if I'm nuts for even considering blowing my Saturday on two cross-country flights. The direct roundtrip is 2066 miles , while the flight home through SFO is 6344 miles, for a cpm of ~$.08. Would you do it, given the opportunity?
Old Jan 4, 2010, 9:42 pm

Programs: AA Nothing, Marriott Gold
That's not really a good deal. People look for CPM under .02 or at most under .03.

As far as blowing your weekend? Well that's to be decided - I flew DCA-PHX-SFO-PHX-DCA in 1 day and while my family and friends thought I was nuts, that's just normal here :-)

Edit:

If your willing to fly into BWI:

CHS-ATL-BUF-JFK-BWI-JFK-BUF-ATL-CHS which gives ~2900 miles (4400 if you get 500 min segments) for $340

or CHS-ATL-MKE-MSP-BWI-JFK-BUF-ATL-CHS which gives ~4800 miles for $340 (again with 500 min segments)

Both would be brutal at ~10 hours each way.

Last edited by GoodOmens; Jan 4, 2010 at 9:56 pm
Old Jan 4, 2010, 9:56 pm
Original Poster

Okay, let me sweeten the pot (I think I'm just begging for acceptance here!):

The differential from what I'm already having to fly would be 4278 more miles, for an additional $117, or $.027 per mile, and a full day in the air. Would you bite then?
Old Jan 4, 2010, 11:22 pm

Programs: AA Plat Pto, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Hyatt Globalist