Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals
Reload this Page >

Newbie Question: Fare Rules/Route Expansion

Newbie Question: Fare Rules/Route Expansion

Old Nov 10, 05, 4:17 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oakland, CA
Programs: Silver Level: DL, Non-Elite: AS, UA, AA, WN
Posts: 703
Newbie Question: Fare Rules/Route Expansion

Now, I'm flying from Boston to San Jose but trying to get the best routing out of it given the Fare Rules

ROUTING 35 FROM BOS-UA-NYC-UA-WAS-
OR FROM BOS-UA-WAS-UA-EWR/NYC-
OR FROM BOS-UA-EWR/NYC-UA-WAS-
OR FROM BOS-UA-CLT-UA-PHL-UA-WAS-
VIA UA-ROC-UA-BUF-UA-CHI-UA-HOU/
SAT/AUS/IND/MLI/TUL/OKC/LNK/ICT/CID/
DFW/COS/MKE/MSN/STL/MKC/DSM/OMA/MSP-
OR VIA UA-ORF/PHF/RDU/GSO/HFD/BDL/
CRW/CAK/RIC/ROA/HAR/ABE/ALB-UA-CHI-UA-
HOU/SAT/AUS/IND/MLI/TUL/OKC/LNK/ICT/
CID/DFW/COS/MKE/MSN/STL/MKC/DSM/OMA/
MSP-
OR VIA UA-PHL-UA-PIT-UA-CHI-UA-HOU/
SAT/AUS/IND/MLI/TUL/OKC/LNK/ICT/CID/
DFW/COS/MKE/MSN/STL/MKC/DSM/OMA/MSP-
OR VIA UA-MIA/TPA/ORL/ATL/MSY-
OR VIA UA-SYR/IND/CMH/DAY/DTT/CLE/
CLT-UA-CHI-UA-HOU/SAT/AUS/IND/MLI/TUL/

That's what expedia gives - now... how do I trip all of that into the most effective MR? Also if anyone knows how I could modify it to fit the paramaters of the Faremetrics Route Expander, it would help out a lot too?

This is my first time trying this and the best I've been able to do is BOS-CLT-BDL-ORD-SJC. To my understanding you can only use one FROM, one VIA, one TO

From:
ROUTING 35 FROM BOS-UA-NYC-UA-WAS-
OR FROM BOS-UA-WAS-UA-EWR/NYC-
OR FROM BOS-UA-EWR/NYC-UA-WAS-
OR FROM BOS-UA-CLT-UA-PHL-UA-WAS-
Via:
UA-ORF/PHF/RDU/GSO/HFD/BDL/
CRW/CAK/RIC/ROA/HAR/ABE/ALB-UA-CHI-UA-
HOU/SAT/AUS/IND/MLI/TUL/OKC/LNK/ICT/
CID/DFW/COS/MKE/MSN/STL/MKC/DSM/OMA/
MSP-
To: San Jose

it would be BOS-CLT-BDL-CHI-DFW-SJC but since the fare rules only allow for 4 segments I needed to trim one and I was under the impression that you could skip steps if they weren't needed. Indeed ITA lets me drow the DFW but skipping ORD would lead to a more effective MR. Can anyone take the time to explain why I can't skip ORD? And if possible suggest a better routing.

The other thing is that I'm unadble to get any other routing through CLT, when I try BOS-CLT-BUF/ROC/IAD/JFK-CHI-SJC it won't work despite almost identical routings... is there something I'm missing as to why BDL is the only working one?

Last edited by Khabibul35; Nov 10, 05 at 4:35 am
Khabibul35 is offline  
Old Nov 10, 05, 6:33 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NYC/ISP
Programs: UA-Plat, United Club
Posts: 486
Expedia tends to cut the ends off of longer routings. One option that sometimes works is to price out the reverse of the routing you tried, and piece them together. Or, you can just try a simple method and change the "/" after TUL to a "-", and add "TO SJC*" on the next line.
Faremetrics needs at least what it thinks is a complete routing (with the TO line and the * in there).
The end should end up looking something like this if you just add it in:
OR VIA UA-SYR/IND/CMH/DAY/DTT/CLE/
CLT-UA-CHI-UA-HOU/SAT/AUS/IND/MLI/TUL-
TO SJC*
The problem with dropping ORD is that I don't think UA flies from BDL-DFW. They do, however, fly from BDL-ORD and ORD-SJC which is why you are able to drop DFW. You can't always do any routing that comes back as legal...sometimes an airline doesn't fly the route, which may make you ask why it is in the routing, but you can find many threads on that subject. Also, don't forget that you need to find seats in the particular fare class for each segment to get the price you want. Good luck, ask if you come up with any more questions, or I didn't explain something clear enough (it is only 630am ).

dan
raybolt is offline  
Old Nov 11, 05, 11:12 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 422
raybolt explained the changes to the routing well. Faremetrics *should* work with that modified routing.

FYI, the following is the UA routing for BOS-SJC.

ROUTING 35 FROM BOS-UA-NYC-UA-WAS-
OR FROM BOS-UA-WAS-UA-EWR/NYC-
OR FROM BOS-UA-EWR/NYC-UA-WAS-
OR FROM BOS-UA-CLT-UA-PHL-UA-WAS-
VIA UA-ROC-UA-BUF-UA-CHI-UA-HOU/
SATURDAY/AUS/IND/MLI/TUL/OKC/LNK/ICT/CID/
DFW/COS/MKE/MSN/STL/MKC/DSM/OMA/MSP-
OR VIA UA-ORF/PHF/RDU/GSO/HFD/BDL/
CRW/CAK/RIC/ROA/HAR/ABE/ALB-UA-CHI-UA-
HOU/SATURDAY/AUS/IND/MLI/TUL/OKC/LNK/ICT/
CID/DFW/COS/MKE/MSN/STL/MKC/DSM/OMA/
MSP-
OR VIA UA-PHL-UA-PIT-UA-CHI-UA-HOU/
SATURDAY/AUS/IND/MLI/TUL/OKC/LNK/ICT/CID/
DFW/COS/MKE/MSN/STL/MKC/DSM/OMA/MSP-
OR VIA UA-MIA/TPA/ORL/ATL/MSY-
OR VIA UA-SYR/IND/CMH/DAY/DTT/CLE/
CLT-UA-CHI-UA-HOU/SATURDAY/AUS/IND/MLI/TUL/
OKC/LNK/ICT/CID/DFW/COS/MKE/MSN/STL/
MKC/DSM/OMA/MSP-
TO UA-DEN-UA-OAK/SFO/LAX/TUS/BUR/
ONT/SAN/SNA/FAT/SBA/SLC/SMF/RNO/PHX/
LAS/GEG/BOI-UA-LAX/ONT-UA-SFO-UA-SJC*
OR TO UA-DEN-UA-OAK/SFO/LAX/TUS/BUR/
ONT/SAN/SNA/FAT/SBA/SLC/SMF/RNO/PHX/
LAS/GEG/BOI-UA-SFO-UA-ONT/LAX-UA-SBA-
UA-SJC*
OR TO UA-DEN-UA-PHX/SLC/SMF/RNO/LAS/
GEG/BOI/EUG-UA-PDX-UA-SEA-UA-PDX-UA-
SFO-UA-SJC*
OR TO UA-DEN-UA-SFO/LAX/TUS/BUR/ONT/
SAN/SNA/FAT/SBA-UA-LAX/ONT-UA-SFO-UA-
SJC*
drtravix is offline  
Old Nov 12, 05, 8:43 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SFO, OAK
Programs: US SP
Posts: 8
What does that "SATURDAY" in the middle of the routing mean?
rdore is offline  
Old Nov 12, 05, 9:45 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Reno, Nevada
Posts: 7,368
Originally Posted by rdore
What does that "SATURDAY" in the middle of the routing mean?
I'm guessing that, for some reason, the airport code for San Antonio (SAT) got inadvertently lengthened to Saturday.

Mike
nako is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: