Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals
Reload this Page >

NEED HELP figuring a MR LAX-OTH (or EUG)

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 21, 2004, 11:32 am
Original Poster

Programs: Marriott/Starwood Lifetime Titanium, Hilton HHonors Diamond, IHG Spire, United Premier Silver

Hello, all. I am brand new to FT and am hoping someone can help me. I need 4100 more miles to get Platinum and am trying my hand at my first MR. I read the MR primer, the primer 2nd post, etc. but I am still having trouble finding out how to actually book a MR. If any of you veterans could give me some advice, I'd be most grateful. I am trying to fly from LAX (or SNA, or ONT, or Burbank -- I am not picky) to OTH (or EUG, or even PDX if need be). I used ITA (which is incredible) and it came up with LAX-SFO-SEA-EUG-SEA-OAK-SNA. This comes out to the 4100 miles that I need. So NOW my question is: how do I get this? I went to aa.com and used multi-city but it doesn't give me enough spaces to enter all of these cities, and if I try to leave out some of the cities as previously suggested here, it actually gives me a direct flight (oh no!) skipping them. What am I doing wrong? I tried it on travelocity, expedia, etc. as well and I just am unsure of how to enter in this exact itinerary anywhere. Is there anywhere that when you book, you actually enter in each airport of the exact itinerary you want, or how does it work? I DID try entering into aa.com multi-city's page each of these airports through EUG (which is essentially one way) and it came back with a fare of almost $500 but on ITA, the fare begins at $293. I can get the flight farely straight (just one connection) through expedia for $283 so I don't know WHAT I'm doing wrong. Could anyone please help me figure out how to actually book it and get what I want, and if anyone has any better suggestions of even getting MORE miles out of this, that'd be great too!
Thanks!
Old Jul 14, 2004, 3:12 pm