Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > America - USA > Midwest
Reload this Page >

T3 to T5 Transfer at Ohare ... Checkin again or not?

T3 to T5 Transfer at Ohare ... Checkin again or not?

Old Mar 29, 18, 4:42 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1
T3 to T5 Transfer at Ohare ... Checkin again or not?

Hello all!

Question: Next month i'm flying AA/American, DTW-ORD, then Cathay Pacific/CX, ORD-HKG. All part of one world alliance. It's been forever since i've gone through Ohare (usually go out of DTW for internationals on DL)....I understand I can take the terminal transfer bus from T3 to T5 to skip the security line at T5, but my question is -- When I get to T5, will I have to check in with Cathay at all? I should be able to get my boarding passes here in DTW for Cathay (2.5 hour layover in ORD), if not i'll at least print them from online. Everything is on one reservation.

When you get off the bus in T5...are you -literally- in the gate area? Or are you just in the check-in area for all the airlines that operate there?

Also, i'm trying to avoid checking my bag, and as such I usually pack a heavy carry on when I fly DL to Asia, and DL doesn't care nor check the carry on weights. It's my first time on Cathay... and I understand they are pretty strict across the board, as well as a tight 15lb limit on the carry on. Assuming I bypass their check-in counter at T5 by taking the transfer bus, are they -weighing- bags at the gate (carry ons) in ORD, or any other station for that matter? If your carry on is overweight at the gate area, then what? I'll just be throwing away my clothes/some of my belongings, or what happens at that point?

Thanks so much!
aviator99 is offline  
Old Mar 29, 18, 6:53 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,054
Originally Posted by aviator99 View Post
Hello all!

Question: Next month i'm flying AA/American, DTW-ORD, then Cathay Pacific/CX, ORD-HKG. All part of one world alliance. It's been forever since i've gone through Ohare (usually go out of DTW for internationals on DL)....I understand I can take the terminal transfer bus from T3 to T5 to skip the security line at T5, but my question is -- When I get to T5, will I have to check in with Cathay at all? I should be able to get my boarding passes here in DTW for Cathay (2.5 hour layover in ORD), if not i'll at least print them from online. Everything is on one reservation.

When you get off the bus in T5...are you -literally- in the gate area? Or are you just in the check-in area for all the airlines that operate there?

Also, i'm trying to avoid checking my bag, and as such I usually pack a heavy carry on when I fly DL to Asia, and DL doesn't care nor check the carry on weights. It's my first time on Cathay... and I understand they are pretty strict across the board, as well as a tight 15lb limit on the carry on. Assuming I bypass their check-in counter at T5 by taking the transfer bus, are they -weighing- bags at the gate (carry ons) in ORD, or any other station for that matter? If your carry on is overweight at the gate area, then what? I'll just be throwing away my clothes/some of my belongings, or what happens at that point?

Thanks so much!
I can't answer the questions specific to Cathay Pacific but all you need to take the T3 --> T5 transfer bus is a boarding pass for your connection. It sounds like you'll have that before you leave Detroit. And yes, the bus brings you straight to the airside portion of T5 so you won't be going through security again.
JimInOhio is online now  
Old Apr 5, 18, 6:40 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: CHS
Programs: Starriott PP, UA 1K, Hertz PC
Posts: 2,034
You will need boarding pass AND passport to take the bus T3-> T5

IME - which was on EVA (*A) they were ill prepared to deal with someone transferring bags and skipping check in in T5. They were very helpful when they manned the GA desk approx 2 hrs before boarding.

If I were you, I would take the bus and check in at the gate desk as soon as it is opened to let them know you are present, you have bags coming from AA.
Hipplewm is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread