UMs ex-TLV

Old Aug 11, 18, 5:00 pm
Original Poster

Programs: UA nobody, AA GLD, MrIce: UA Premier
UMs ex-TLV

Not sure whether to post this here or in the Travel with Children forum mod, please move if deemed appropriate:

Anyone sent a UM out of Tel Aviv? I have an extended work thing in Israel next summer, and Id like my will-be 11yo (a *highly* experienced UM traveler) to join me for part of it. Before Im finished with my obligation, Ill need to send her back to Chicago for camp.

What is the interrogation process like for UMs/people dropping off UMs? Last time I flew out of TLV (chronicled in another thread here), I got the one-step-down-from-private-room-and-strip-search treatment. I want to adequately prepare her without causing unnecessary anxiety. FWIW, Ill be flying on a fresh passport, w/o all of the Islamic country stamps I had in the old one. TIA!
Old Aug 13, 18, 1:55 am

I have no experience with UMs (though of course it's done all the time out of TLV), but: if you can have one of your Israeli colleagues, with an Israeli ID, accompany her to the airport and in particular to the pre-checkin security screening, and if this person will talk with the security agent and explain the situation, she will get the "Israeli treatment", meaning a 30-second standard questionnaire.

Shuly
Old Aug 13, 18, 9:34 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist