Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Middle East including Egypt > Middle East
Reload this Page >

TMobile Users Israel/Palestine

TMobile Users Israel/Palestine

Reply

Old Apr 1, 15, 1:17 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: In between LAX and LGB
Programs: DL DM
Posts: 711
TMobile Users Israel/Palestine

TMobile users receive free data/text in most countries throughout the world. The only problem I have had was this past trip when I was in Jerusalem. Simply put, Israel is free, Palestine is not. I stayed in Bethlehem this past trip, so I had my phone on airplane mode the whole time. I ventured over to Jerusalem, and turned on my phone. I got the standard welcome to Israel text. Now the strange part is, I was visiting the Dome of the Rock area, and I felt my phone vibrate in my pocket. I thought nothing of it, as I thought it was just some early morning work related or news related emails. I checked 30 min later and my heart dropped after seeing this text.



The whole time I was uploading pics to my facebook in my pocket. I am scared to death that I was using the $15/mb data package, and I guess I will find out soon. Hopefully it wasn't activated without dialing the number provided, but I did receive other texts.

So basically the word of advice is keep your phone on airplane mode in East Jerusalem/Dome of the Rock area. You might be in for a nasty surprise.
bsagator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 15, 2:29 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Israel/United States
Posts: 921
Unfortunately this happens near "border"areas. I've been in the Jordan Valley and my Orange ( Israeli cell provider) will send me a text to tell me I have left Israel and I am now roaming in Jordan!
awayIgo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 15, 8:31 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,268
Most phones have the ability to manually choose which network you're on. If you have it in automatic mode near a border it may roam onto an undesirable network, but if you have in manual mode you should be able to lock it onto a carrier that only exists on the "right" side of the border.
themicah is online now  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread