Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Marriott | Marriott Bonvoy
Reload this Page >

Fraudulent use of someone else's Marriott account? (Police video from April 2022)

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Fraudulent use of someone else's Marriott account? (Police video from April 2022)

Search this Thread

Old Jan 15, 2024, 1:28 pm
Original Poster

Programs: UA 1K 1.9MM

So, how often does this happen, you think?
And can anyone figure out what exactly what went on here? I guess the hotel staff has to be in on it?

"[A couple] used someone else's reward account information to book and stay at the Marriott hotel in Atlanta, Georgia."

Last edited by narvik; Jan 15, 2024 at 1:35 pm
Old Jan 15, 2024, 1:41 pm

Programs: Costco Club
I was a manager at a major airline in the US and had corporate security call me at the gate and say hey don't board these 2 people they're using someone else's miles and they're stolen, they'll even call someone who pretends to be that person, but the jig is up and we've caught on.
becks1, diburning, Brendan and 3 others like this.
Old Jan 15, 2024, 2:07 pm

I find it pretty ballsy to use someone's account without their permission to book a stay, even for a thief. Like, how do you enjoy your stay and sleep through the night worrying the charade could fall apart and someone could come knocking at any moment?

For such a small amount of value to steal (a couple hundred dollars at most, really), it's fairly high risk low reward. Surely stealing some electronics or a bike or car would yield a better return, no?

I would assume a thief with access to a Marriott account would try to convert the points to another points currency or even gift cards or physical merchandise, and then redeem that for anothe thing, in efforts to launder the points and obfuscate their origin to have a better shot at cashing them in for something flippable before ever getting caught.