Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Tropical Honeymoon

Search this Thread

Old Dec 3, 2018, 12:07 pm
Original Poster

Tropical Honeymoon

My fiancee and I will be taking our honeymoon in mid-May, probably a week or so. I've never been anywhere tropical, so that is what we want to do. I have been saving points and miles for a few years, with the goal of using points for as much of the honeymoon as possible (likely Marriott). The flight doesn't have to be points (I scan the flight deal websites every day) but we want to book the hotel/resort with points. I have found several interesting possibilities, but then I get overwhelmed by all the alternatives and at this point, I'm paralyzed by all the options! I've decided to turn to the forums for some help from the experts, especially considering my inexperience on this sort of trip.

For example, we found we could stay at El Mangroove in Costa Rica for 210,000 Marriott points and use the Chase portal to book a United flight for 66,000 UR points. But then I discovered the Punta Islita farther down the coast for the same points, and all the activities are included. Then I figured out there is a JW Marriott halfway between those two, which would cost more Marriott points but looks really nice too. AAAH! When I try to read up on the locations, I see conflicting arguments re: proximity to local restaurants, activities in the area, etc.

Our preferences are:
- An amazing beach, steps from the room
- Paddle boarding, kayaking, bikes, etc. available at resort
- Great snorkeling directly at the resort beach. I have no snorkeling experience, but am really excited about this. I'm imagining being able to explore the area around our resort with a mask and snorkel on my own.
- Opportunity for a jungle adventure nearby. Bird watching, zip-lining, hiking, etc.
- Excellent food, with options outside the resort close by. We like to experience the local culture.