Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Draining Small GC Balances?

Search this Thread

Old Jan 29, 2024, 5:11 pm
Original Poster

Draining Small GC Balances?

I have a stack of Vanilla Visas each with a remaining balance under $10, ever since I started getting declines when using the full amount. Any suggestions on how to best drain them? It would be much easier if there was some way to register a name and billing address...

I've noticed many newer self check-out kiosks (like Walmart and Whole Foods) now have options to do partial payments, but is there a limit? Say, 4 x splits per transaction? I'm talking about buying actual merchandise - not money orders, gift cards, etc.
Old Jan 29, 2024, 7:06 pm
Community Director Emerita

I have limited experience so this is just a partial answer. I had $7.70 on a debit card that i loaded into Apple Pay. I used it at a grocery store two days ago, then used a store card and drained it, then used another store card. The cashier wanted to know the balance on the initial debit card.
Old Jan 29, 2024, 7:25 pm
Original Poster

Originally Posted by SanDiego1K
I have limited experience so this is just a partial answer. I had $7.70 on a debit card that i loaded into Apple Pay. I used it at a grocery store two days ago, then used a store card and drained it, then used another store card. The cashier wanted to know the balance on the initial debit card.
Does that work without a name and billing address associated with the card? I guess I'm somewhat unclear as to how this helps - regardless of payment method used, you still have to tell the machine or cashier exactly how much you want to charge...

Barring data points, I might have to just try a self-checkout kiosk and see if it cuts me off after X number of splits.
Old Jan 29, 2024, 8:33 pm

Originally Posted by United772A